Wilkes University

Faculty Resources: Faculty Resources

Copyright Resources

An explanation of copyright basics from the United States Copyright Office.

On their websites major publishers have guidelines and permissions contacts regarding permission to quote/use from their materials. Consult the relevant publisher's site.


A useful chart for determining a work’s copyright status and whether it is in the public domain.

Creative Commons is a nonprofit organization that provides you with (free) tools to manage your intellectual property.  A CC license gives others permission to reproduce your licensed work when they give credit. The Web site has a tool that generates licenses based on certain criteria.

The University of Maryland offers this page with lots of information on issues relating to Copyright and Fair Use in the Classroom.  Here’s a similar page from the University of Connecticut.

Some guidelines on copyright and course management software from the Copyright Clearance Center.

Digital Images and Copyright   A resource from Colgate University on using digital images in the classroom

Digital Image Rights Computator  An interactive program from the Visual Resources Association designed to help the user assess intellectual property status of an image and to make an informed decision regarding the intended educational uses of the image.

Stanford Copyright and Fair Use An extensive overview and list of resources. Gives many examples of fair use cases.

Visual Resources Association's Statement on Fair Use  The Visual Resources Association is comprised of members that professionally digitize and create access to images for educational use. The Statement describes six uses of copyrighted still images that the VRA believes fall within the U.S. doctrine of fair use.

 

Although the Ohio State University College of Pharmacy Teaching Resources site is designed for those persons working to educate pharmacy students, resources will be helpful to those in other disciplines as well. Some of the materials are specific to the academic programs at the College, but many of them are meant to be used across a range of educational settings.  There is a link to the University Center for the Advancement of Teaching which includes essays by faculty members (under the Read area), along with additional resources such as a document on crafting an effective teaching portfolio.

 

Grants and Grant Writing

Writing Grants

Grant Writing Tips  guides from the NIH.

"How Not To Kill a Grant Application" is a series on how to improve your chances of winning research funds.

A short tutorial on proposal writing.

A Guide for Proposal Writing   from the National Science Foundation

 

Finding Grants

ScanGrants is a listing of grants to support health research, programs and scholarship.

Federal Grant Programs to Conduct Science and Medical Research.

ScienceCareers provides information on funding opportunities in biomedical research and science education.

The NIH Guide for Grants and Contracts is the official publication for NIH medical and behavioral research grant policies, guidelines and funding opportunities.

FundAScientist connects scientists with research funding.

General Resources for Teaching

"The Seven Principles"  collection of ideas for teaching and learning with technology.

Instructional Design provides information about instruction design principles and how they relate to teaching and learning.

The MERLOT Pedagogy Portal is a collection of resources in a variety of disciplines and is designed to help you learn about instructional strategies and issues to help you become a better teacher. 

Essays on Teaching Excellence  is a series of eight short and succinct scholarly essays published by the POD Network on an annual basis, free of charge. The essays present innovative viewpoints on college and university instruction. Written in concise and non-technical language, and supported by research, the essays seek to assist instructors in reflecting upon and refining their practice of teaching to achieve the results they seek - students learning to the best of their abilities.

 

Active Learning

The "Activate" Series of articles support the concept of "Active Classroom" advocated and promoted by the Learning and Teaching Committee (LTC).

Active Learning for the College Classroom  This site offers summaries of active learning techniques from individual exercises like “One Minute Papers” to concepts of wait time when asking questions, and cooperative learning.

Assessment

A list of hand-selected resources on assessment.  Includes info on rubrics, negotiable contracting, electronic portfolios, etc. 

NC State Internet Resource for Higher Education Outcomes Assessment

UCONN Assessment Primer

Check Ebsco eBooks  for these two eBooks on the topic of assessment:  Advancing Formative Assessment in Every Classroom:  A Guide for Instructional Leaders and Changing the Way Your Teach, Improving the Way Students Learn.

Research and Scholarship

Plagiarism

Anti-Plagiarism Strategies for Research Papers  An article from Robert Harris, the author of The Plagiarism Handbook.

This plagiarism tutorial can help students avoid the practice.