Wilkes University

Vancouver Referencing Guide: Drug Database Monographs

A guide to the Vancouver referencing style commonly used in the biomedical sciences

Drug Database Monographs

Although some of the following resources are not available through Wilkes, you may have your own subscriptions and need to reference them, so follow the guidelines below. Many of these are available via multiple formats such as from the Internet, a mobile device, or linked from an electronic health record. For simplicity, the following formats are for citing the Internet version.

Not all drug information databases may indicate the date they were last updated; if the update date is not available, omit this but still indicate the date cited (i.e. the day you looked at the article).

The examples below show you how to cite specific databases and tell you the publisher and publication city for most of the databases you'll use.

Clinical Pharmacology
Example:
Omeprazole. In: Clinical Pharmacology [database on the Internet]. Tampa (FL): Gold Standard. 2012 [updated 2009 Dec 12; cited 2013 Aug 15]. Available from: http://www.clinicalpharmacology.com

Facts and Comparisons 4.0 (available at Wilkes)
Examples:
Minoxidil. Drug Facts and Comparisons. Facts & Comparisons [database on the Internet]. St. Louis, MO: Wolters Kluwer Health, Inc; March 2005 [cited 2012 May 9]. Available from: http://online.factsandcomparisons.com

Kava. Review of Natural Products. Facts & Comparisons [database on the Internet]. St. Louis, MO: Wolters Kluwer Health, Inc: June 2009 [cited 2012 May 9]. Available from:http://online.factsandcomparisons.com 

Lexi-Comp (available at Wilkes)
Lexi-Comp contains several different databases. A Lexi-Comp citation must indicate which of these databases the monograph you're citing came from. 

Examples:
Omeprazole. In: Geriatric Lexi-Drugs [database on the Internet]. Hudson (OH): Lexi-Comp, Inc.; 2007 [cited 4 Sep 2012]. Available from: http://online.lexi.com/lco/action/home/switch

Grapefruit. In: Natural Products Database [database on the Internet]. Hudson (OH): Lexi-Comp, Inc.; 2007 [cited 15 Aug 2013]. Available from: http://online.lexi.com/lco/action/home/switch

Diabetes insipidus. In: Patient Education – Disease and Procedure [database on the Internet]. Hudson (OH): Lexi-Comp, Inc., [updated 2013 Jan 9;cited 15 Aug 2013]. Available from: http://online.lexi.com/lco/action/home/switch

Natural Standard
Example:
St. John's wort. In: Natural Standard: the authority on integrative medicine [database on the Internet]. Cambridge (MA): Natural Standard; 2012 [cited 15 Aug 2013]. Available from: http://www.naturalstandard.com/

Micromedex (available at Wilkes)
Micromedex contains several different databases. A Micromedex citation must indicate which of these databases the monograph you’re citing came from.

Examples:
Acupuncture. In: Alternative Medicine [database on the Internet]. Greenwood Village, CO: Thomson Micromedex; 1974-2012. [cited 2012 Aug 16] Available from: http://www.micromedexsolutions.com/micromedex2/librarian

Diltiazem In: DRUGDEX® System [database on the Internet]. Greenwood Village, CO: Thomson Micromedex. [cited 2012 Aug 16[.  Available from: http://www.micromedexsolutions.com/micromedex2/librarian

Cytarbine. In: POISINDEX Managements [database on the Internet]. Greenwood Village, CO: Thomson Micromedex. [cited 2006 Aug 16].  Available from: http://www.micromedexsolutions.com/micromedex2/librarian