Collection Development Policy

Purpose

The Wilkes University Archives selects, preserves, and makes available records that document the programs, people, and history of Wilkes University and the Wyoming Valley. The Archives supports both administrative functions of the university and research by students, faculty, and scholars

To select, preserve, and make available records that document the programs, people, and history of Wilkes University and the Wyoming Valley in support of the educational, research, and administrative activities of the Wilkes community.

Scope

The University Archives serves as the final repository for the historical records of Wilkes University, including university publications and other records documenting the operation of the university and the activities of its students, faculty, and staff. There is a preference for material whose provenance can be documented. In limited cases, we may serve as a repository for essential records still in use by the university.

Types of Materials

University Archives collects:

  • University Publications
  • University governance and administrative records
  • University department and unit records
  • Records and personal papers of alumni, faculty, staff, and board members
  • Photographs
  • Graduate theses, dissertations, and advanced projects
  • Blueprints and architectural drawings
  • Selected University pamphlets, posters, and artifacts
  • Books published by or about Wilkes University and its alumni, faculty, staff, and board members
  • Published books that support the interpretation of historical documents in the collection

Physical Condition

Where possible, University Archives prefer to select items in good condition that can be preserved easily through basic techniques such as appropriate housings and temperature controls.  However, archivists can conserve, preserve, and make available essential records of university history in poor condition when there are no substitute records available in good condition.

Archives Reference Collection

The archives collects a non-circulating reference collection of works on archival theory and practice and the history of Wilkes University and the Wyoming Valley.

Collections

Our collection currently consists of University publications and the papers of Wilkes faculty, staff, administration and board members. Highlights include papers from the Flood Recovery Task Force, the Wilkes University Institute of Regional Affairs and the Gilbert McClintock Collection, which includes records documenting the early history of the Wyoming Valley and the Revolutionary War.

The archives is actively seeking to grow our collections and welcomes donations pertaining to Wilkes activities and history.  For more information, contact Suzanna Calev (suzanna.calev@wilkes.edu), ext. 2012.

Services

The Wilkes University Archives selects, preserves, and makes available records that document the programs, people, and history of Wilkes University and the Wyoming Valley. The Archives also seeks to educate members of the Wilkes community and the public about the University’s history, by providing access to the collections and contributing to campus cultural events and publications. The Archives provides educational opportunities for students so that they can learn the research process and develop skills that will prepare them to enter the workforce.

Staff Directory