Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.


Pharmacy: Tutorials and "How to" Guides

Pharmacy Resources

Database Tutorials (Vendor-created)

Listed below are several tutorials that give step by step instruction on how to use various resources. 

Introduction to EBSCOhost is a guide and tour of this suite of  online databases.

Facts and Comparisons   A collection of short tutorials on basic and advanced searching.

JStor   A collection of short articles on basic and advanced searching.

Lexis-Nexis.  A number of tutorials to help you get started using the LexisNexis services.

Lexi-Comp   Learn how to use this drug database to identify drugs, calculate drug dosing, access AHFS content, create patient education materials and more.

Micromedex  Learn how to use Micromedex 2.0 in 10 minutes. The video will walk you through the Point-of-Care interface. Covers most frequently used features of the database. You may be asked to fill out a quick name registration form to view the tutorial.

Basics of PubMed Tutorial Learn how to search PubMed. This tutorial explains what PubMed is and how to: develop search strategies; display, save, print, sort, e-mail and search results; use MeSH, Limits, Clipboard and Details features; link to full-text articles. 

Advanced PubMed Tutorial This tutorial goes beyond the basics and explores additional features of PubMed.  By learning to use some of these features and other tips and tricks, you can improve your search efficiency and retrieve the best results for your research..

Web of Science Training   Learn tips to help you search Web of Science effectively, including tips on using search operators and wildcard characters, and how to do basic citation analysis.

 

Other Tutorials

Citation Guides, Copyright, Plagiarism

Here are some print guides and other general tutorials that may also be useful in your research:

Avoiding Plagiarism    What is plagiarism and how to avoid it.  (Wilkes University LibGuide)

Copyright and Fair Use in the Classroom, on the Internet,and the World Wide Web   To help you make informed decisions before using materials.  (from the University of Maryland – University College)