Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.


Pharmacy: Handheld / Mobile Resources

Pharmacy Resources

Installing Resources on Your Mobile Device

Dynamed Mobile
Click on the following link for the technical requirements and installation instructions http://www.ebscohost.com/dynamed/technical.php.

Mobile Micromedex 2.0
Go to Micromedex on the Farley Library Databases and Indexes page or on the Pharmacy LibGuide. (If you are off campus, first sign into the MyWilkes Portal using your username and password.)   At the bottom of the Resources Section, click on the radial button "Download Mobile Apps." 

Mobile Devices and Service Providers

 

The use of mobile devices among health care practitioners is very prevalent.  They use them to access and review patient records and test results, enter notes during patient visits, and synchronize information with their organizations’ centralized systems, all without the need for wired network connections.

 

These devices are also used to consult formularies and other reference material, making it possible for you to carry “libraries” of information in your pocket.  They are especially useful in clinical settings to provide fast “point of care” access to a wealth of drug and medical information.

 

There are a variety of brands and operating systems to choose from.  If you don’t already have this technology, determine which product is right for you by checking out reviews such as these:

 

Best Smartphones   

Smartphones Reviews and advice

Smartphones Review

Cell Phone Reviews

 

Cell Phone Providers Review   

Cell Phone Plans

 

Best eBook Readers

Review of Top Three eReaders

Comparing eReaders

 

 

 

Resource Downloads

There are many programs available for medical professionals, some of which are free and some of which are paid.  Listed below are descriptions of some relevant to pharmacy.  Those which have a dollar sign ($) require a subscription or a fee to download.  When linking to specific sites, note any specific hardware or operating system requirements.  For example, some applications may not be compatible with Blackberry or iPhone devices.

Disclaimer: Some free resources are supported by companies who are marketing their products.  Most make it clear that the medical content is independently generated and that sponsored content is clearly identified; however, users need to vet those resources for potential bias.  It is good practice to consult more than one resource.

 

ABX Handheld       ($)   Johns Hopkins Antibiotic Guide provides information to specialists and primary care physicians on more than 175 diseases, 215 drugs and 125 pathogens.  All entries in the ABX Guide are written, peer reviewed, and annotated by experts in each particular disease category and reviewed by pharmacists and physician practitioners.

AHQR: Electronic Preventive Services Selector (ePSS)    (Free)   A quick hands-on tool designed to help primary care clinicians identify the screening, counseling, and preventive medication services that are appropriate for their patients."

Calculate by QxMD  (Free)  Point-of-care tools in the areas of cardiology, internal medicine, nephrology, general practice, hematology, gastroenterology, emergency medicine, oncology, orthopedics, respirology, neurology, neurosurgery, general surgery and obstetrics.

Clinical Pharmacology   ($)  Includes multiple criteria search, drug identifier, and several dosage and diagnostic calculators. Content is updated “live” to include newly released drug products and breaking developments.

Clinical Trials  (Free)   Search the National Library of Medicine (NLM) database of available clinical trials worldwide, find studies matching specified categories/keywords and view detailed information about specific clinical trials.

Diagnosaurus   (Free)  Provides over 1000+ differential diagnoses of symptoms, signs, and diseases. 

Dynamed   (Free to Wilkes students and faculty)   A clinical reference tool created for physicians and other health care professionals for use primarily at the 'point-of-care.'  With clinically-organized summaries for nearly 3,000 topics, it is specifically designed to update content daily based on systematic monitoring and evaluation of the research literature.

Epocrates  (Free)  Provides a clinical drug database with about 2,800 drug monographs for the PDA. Each monograph includes information on pricing, adverse reactions, contraindications, pharmacokinetics as well as related drug monograph topics.   Available for a number of platforms, this product also includes continual free updates and medical news. 

Essential Evidence Plus    (Free to Wilkes students and faculty)   Features more than 700 topics covering the most common conditions, diseases, and procedures clinicians come in contact with everyday. Each topic concisely reviews and evaluates all of the relevant medical literature.  Also includes interactive decision support tools and thousands of diagnostic calculators; extensive links to POEMs, The Cochrane Library, and important evidence-based guidelines; summary tables for at-a-glance information; and algorithms to facilitate optimal decision-making.

Guideline Central App (Free) Provides free Guideline Summaries, MEDLINE/PubMed, Drug Information, Clinical Trials, ePSS, calculators and more.

Lexi-Comp OnHand   ($, discounted for Wilkes faculty and students through school's online account)   Offers various packages of databases for the pharmacist.  Includes access to over 8000 medications on any platform.  Can be used to answer questions on adverse reactions, dosage and administration, dynamics and kinetics, storage, use and administration.  Active links to primary literature, IV compatibility.  Unlimited updates.

Medical Abbreviations     ($)     13,000 medical abbreviations.

MedicalMnemonics.com    (Free)    An online searchable database of medical mnemonics to help remember the important details.

Medscape from WebMD  (Free)  A comprehensive information service that includes a drug database of over 6,000 generic and brand name drugs, plus hundreds of herbals, supplements and antidotes; a drug interaction checker that quickly shows interactions for a combination of up to 30 drugs, herbals and/or supplements; medical news with up-to-date, specialty-focused medical content across more than 30 specialties; the WebMD Health Directory featuring contact information for over 400,000 physicians, 57,000 pharmacies, and 6,000 hospitals in a convenient search format.

MerckMedicus  (Free)   Available after registration to state licensed health care providers, MerckMedicus wireless will give you access to current medical resources, including:  The Merck Manual, Professional Edition; Harrison’s Practice Answers on Demand; Pocket Guide to Diagnostic Tests; MEDLINE journal abstracts; and Reuters medical news.

MobileMicromedex   (Free to Wilkes faculty and students)   Drugs, Interactions, diseases, lab, alternative medicines, toxicology, news and alerts, calculators includes a drug interaction tool, evidence-based drug information, alternative medicine, toxicology acute care information.

Normal Lab Values   ($)    Displays normal laboratory values (in US and SI unites) to help medical professionals interpret test results.

Pharmacists Letter    (Free to Wilkes students and faculty)   Pharmacy faculty and students have a gift subscription to Pharmacist’s Letter.  Once you have registered to activate that subscription, you can get access to Pharmacists Letter with this app.  It covers the full monthly issue (12-15 of the most pertinent recommendations each month), plus answers to drug therapy questions in the browseable archives.

Polyglot Med Spanish     ($)  Audio translations of over 3000 common words, phrases and assessment questions from English to Spanish and from Spanish to English.

PubMed for Handhelds    (Free)   Search PubMed with screens designed for ease of use on a PDA. Includes PICO serach form.

PubMed Mobile  (Free)  simplified interface to access PubMed using its basic search functionality.

Shots    (Free)   Immunization schedules for children and adults, produced by the Group on Immunization Education of the Society of Teachers of Family Medicine.   For Palm OS or Pocket PC.

SKYSCAPE CLINICAL CALCULATOR | MOBILE APP & WEB Skyscape Clinical Calculator™ - Free Medical Calculator provides mobile healthcare practitioners with the latest in trusted clinical information for more accurate, confident and informed decision-making at point-

WISER (Wireless Information System for Emergency Responders)    (Free)   A system
designed to assist first responders in hazardous material incidents. Developed by the NLM, WISER provides a wide range of information on hazardous substances, including substance identification support, physical characteristics, human health information, and containment and suppression advice. WISER is available for a number of platforms.