EndNote is a citation manager available through Wilkes University's Web of Science database. You must register for an account with your Wilkes University email address in order to access it. Subscriptions last for one year before they have to be renewed, so a graduating senior can potentially access EndNote for a few months after graduating.
EndNote can be found on the Farley Library's A-Z Databases page alphabetically under E. You may be prompted for your Wilkes University credentials if you are not already logged in.
Click the "Register" button to create your account and set a password. You must use your Wilkes University email address.
Note: the password you create for EndNote is not tied to your Wilkes University Portal account, so when your Portal account password changes, your EndNote password will stay the same.
Saving citations to EndNote can vary depending on what database you are using. Here are three common examples.
From the results page in Summon, click the three dot menu on the right side. In the drop-down, click EndNote.
A file with the extension .RIS will download to your computer. From there, go to your EndNote account and select "Collect." Upload the .RIS file and select "RefMan RIS" for file type. You can also specify a specific folder destination for the citation if you wish, then click "Import."
The citation will now be in your library.
If your article is in a ProQuest database, click "All Options" on the right side of the article page, then click "EndNote" in the Citation Export section.
Again, an .RIS file will download to your computer. Import this. file into EndNote, selecting "ProQuest" as the file type.
If your article is in an EBSCO database, locate "Export" in the Tools menu on the right side of the article page. From there, select "Direct Export to EndNote Web."
The citation should add itself automatically to your EndNote account.
Once in your EndNote account, click the "Downloads" option on the menu bar. There will be several plugins you can download, including Cite While You Write (CWYW). Select either Windows or Mac and download and install the plugin.
Also consider using EndNote Click, which is a browser plugin. However, if you are doing most research from Wilkes University databases, you can use the export functions built into the databases.
You should now be able to see the EndNote plugin in your Microsoft Word menu.
Under the "Format" menu, select what citation style(s) you would like to use and add them to your favorites. This will make those styles available in the CWYW plugin.
While writing in Microsoft Word, select where in your sentence you'd like the citation to appear then select "Insert Citation" in the Endnote menu. Make sure the correct citation style you plan to use is selected. From there, search the article you'd like to use by keyword or author, then click "Insert."
The parenthetical citation will be inserted into your sentence, and the reference will be placed underneath. If you create a "References" section behorehand, the plugin will place the reference there in alphabetical order automatically.
Note: the citation spacing or indentation may be incorrect based on your default Word formatting settings.
Note: Always verify that the reference is formatted correctly before using CWYW. Since the citations are generated from the databases, there can be typos and other errors. Computers are not perfect!