LibGuides: Economics: Reference Resources

Online Reference Resources

Credo Reference is a growing online collection of reference resources, including dictionaries, encyclopedias, atlases, and handbooks, from leading publishers, many of which include images, audio and video clips.

Credo concept map

Are you having trouble deciding on a topic for a research paper?

Try using the concept map to narrow your search. For example, type "Economics" in the search box and watch Credo display all the links related to "Economics."

Select a subdivision and see what happens.
Try it!

Handbooks & Guides

Handbook of United States Economic and Financial Indicators
Designed to answer questions about the makeup, purpose, use, and availability of economic indicators in a broad sense of the term, this book includes entries on indicators, many of which are new to this edition. In addition to identifying and describing indicators, the entries show how they are calculated, where they are published, how they are used, where their values are published, and where one can find further information about them.

Encyclopedias

In Print in Farley Library

The McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Economics
HB61 .E55 1994

Online

An Encyclopedia of Macroeconomics
This reference source on macroeconomics embraces definitions of terms and concepts, conflicting ideological approaches and the contributions of major thinkers.
An Encyclopedia of Keynesian Economics
This authoritative and comprehensive reference work introduces the reader to the major concepts and leading contributors in the field of Keynesian economics.

Dictionaries

Collins Dictionary of Economics
Summarizes the theoretical principles behind the science of economics and their application in such areas as competition policy, agricultural policy, fiscal policy and monetary policy.
Dictionary of Economics
The Dictionary of Economics makes the vocabulary of economics accessible to everyone. Written by lexicographers and financial experts Jae K. Shim and Joel G. Siegel, it supplies you with everything you need to acquire a solid working knowledge of these and many more economics-related terms.
The Penguin Dictionary of Economics
Wide-ranging and accessible, this detailed practical and international guide will be indispensable for students of economics and professionals (in business, finance or the public sector), and for anyone wishing to follow economic discussions in the media today.

Biographies

A Biographical Dictionary of Dissenting Economists
An extensive and authoritative guide to economists both past and present, providing biographical, bibliographical and critical information on over 100 economists working in the non-neoclassical traditions broadly defined.
A Biographical Dictionary of Women Economists
Includes specially commissioned articles on the lives and writings of women who made significant contributions to economics.
Who's Who In Economics
An extensive and authoritative guide to the most frequently cited academic economists throughout the world.