Environmental Engineering & Earth Sciences: Reference Resources

Third Edition The Environmental Dictionary and Regulatory Cross-Reference The answers you need-right at your fingertips... Anyone involved in researching environmental regulations in 40 CFR knows that the only definition that matters for any environmental term is the U.S. EPA definition. Unfortunately, EPA definitions can change from one regulatory area to another, and it can be difficult to determine which section of the regulations a particular definition applies to. The Environmental Dictionary and Regulatory Cross-Reference eliminates the confusion and tedium of poring through the Code of Federal Regulations looking for the proper section or definition. Each of the nearly 6,000 definitions is cross-referenced to the section of the code in which it is found, and every possible definition is included for each term listed. Fully revised and updated with more than 1,500 new and modified definitions to reflect code changes through June 1994, The Environmental Dictionary and Regulatory Cross-Reference, Third Edition is a terrific time-saver and "headache remedy" for anyone whose work involves environmental terms and acronyms. It reduces mistakes and confusion and speeds up the process of finding the specific section of the regulation that applies to a particular situation.

Because environmental problems are uncovered almost daily, both new regulations and technologies are continuously being developed to meet the challenges of solving them. As a result, the definitions for many past terms are revised and many new terms are generated each year. The Environmental Engineering Dictionary, 3rd Edition, combines both new and revised terms for a completely updated and comprehensive collection of more than 14,000 environmental definitions. The 3rd Edition covers all the major environmental fields and includes exact and official EPA definitions for statue-related, regulation-related, and environmental engineering terms and for environmentally related science terms. Many of these terms include time-saving references to the definition's source, including the Code of Federal Regulations, the EPA, and the Department of Energy.

A strongly interdisciplinary and wide-ranging survey of the environment of life on Earth: the most authoritative and comprehensive source on environmental science to be collected together in a single volume. Unique in presenting both a basic overview and detailed information on environmental topics. Entries are arranged in an encyclopedic A-Z format and contain extensive cross-references to related entries, as well as references to primary and secondary literature. Over 370 separate entries prepared by 228 leading experts from 25 countries. Incorporates 25 substantial in-depth treatments of key areas and also includes biographies of leading scientists and environmentalists. Contains a comprehensive subject index and a citation index of all referenced authors. The Encyclopedia of Environmental Science is a multidisciplinary reference work, which crosses many fields of interest and includes a wide variety of scholarly and authoritative articles on mankind's environment. It provides information on the atmosphere, hydrosphere, biosphere and geosphere and is careful to focus on the connections between these realms and the Earth as a whole. Taken as a whole, the Encyclopedia surveys basic environmental science and applied areas of study, and is drawn from the physical sciences, life sciences and social sciences. The 228 authors from 25 different countries, many of whom are the leading authorities in their field, include biologists, ecologists, geographers, geologists, political scientists, soil scientists, hydrologists, climatologists, and representatives of many other disciplines and academic specialties. The work, which is amply referenced and cross-referenced, consists of substantial essays on major topics, medium-sized entries and short definitional entries. The shorter entries include useful biographies of leading scientists and environmentalists. The Encyclopedia will be invaluable to all readers interested in the environment of life on Earth, its past, present and future, and its physical and social dimensions. The text provides a source of well-classified basic information as well as covering the leading theories and important debates in the environmental sciences. In addition, the book also includes assessments of the future prospects for the Earth's environment in the face of pollution, population increases and the accelerating transformation of land, air, water and vegetational systems. The Encyclopedia is unique in presenting both a basic overview and detailed information on environmental topics and is suitable for the general scientific reader and the specialized environmental scientist in academic institutions, research laboratories or private practice.

Today's greater public awareness of how climate affects our quality of life and environment has created an increasing demand for climatological information. Now this information is available in one convenient, accessible source, The Encyclopedia of Climatology. This comprehensive volume covers all the main subfields of climatology, supplies data on climates in major continental areas and explains what is known about the causes of climatic processes and changes. Contents include articles on bioclimatology, El Niño, climatic models, world regional climates, civilization and climate, climatic variations and the greenhouse effect.

This book should be of interest to geologists; biologists; environmentalists; ecologists; engineers; lecturers and students in related subjects; libraries.

Covering all branches of soil science - from mineralogy and physics to soil management and restoration - this extensive reference outlines the agricultural, environmental, industrial and cultural components and processes that affect soil productivity.

What is God like? Can I trust Him? Does He know me and can He help me tackle the challenges I face? There is a good chance you do not know God the way He desires and certainly not the way He knows you. Most people know a little something about Him, but their knowledge of who He is and how He works stops just past the point of an initial introduction. Why is it so important to know the One who knows all about you? The answer is simple: when you come to a point where you understand His ways, your life takes on new meaning. You stop looking at old problems and feeling defeat, fear, and anxiety. Suddenly, you realize that the Person who gave you life and breath is also the One who has set an amazing course for your life to follow. In Step with God offers steps that lead not only to a deeply personal relationship with Jesus Christ but also provides the insight you need to live each day. In a simple, clear way Dr. Charles Stanley, one of America's most loved and trusted pastors, encourages and challenges you to approach life and its decisions--both big and small--by first knowing and considering God's character. Inside you will learn how to gain greater intimacy with God understand how He uses trials to build you up learn the signs of God's goodness in day-to-day life cling more firmly to His love and forgiveness discover God's relentless commitment to your well being. "The nearer I draw to the Lord," writes Dr. Stanley, "the more I will know about Him--His love for me and His good plans and desires for my life. Plus, the more intimate I become with God, the better I understand His ways, and this understanding leads to a deeper longing to know God better. I learn how to discern His will not only for my life but also for the situations I encounter."