LibGuides: Women's and Gender Studies: Find Articles

Databases

APA PsycArticles This link opens in a new window
Full-text articles in the fields of psychology and psychiatry from APA and allied organizations.
Arts & Humanities Database This link opens in a new window
A collection of scholarly journal articles covering topics in the arts, history, literature, and languages.
Communication Abstracts This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive resource for communication, mass media, and other closely related fields.
Digital Commons Network This link opens in a new window
Scholarly, open access resources in the fields of social and behavioral sciences, arts and humanities, law, life sciences, physical sciences and mathematics, education, engineering, life sciences, medical and health sciences, and business.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Full-text scholarly articles covering the arts and humanities, social and political sciences, mathematics and the hard sciences, as well as business and economics.
ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window
Search within a single database to find materials across all major subject areas, including business, health and medical, social sciences, arts and humanities, education, science and technology, and religion.
ProQuest One Business This link opens in a new window
A business resource with scholarly and trade journal articles, dissertations, market reports, industry reports, business cases, and global and trade news. Combines multiple ProQuest business information databases - including: ABI/INFORM Collection, J.P. Morgan Research, the Business Market Research Collection, the Accounting, Tax and Banking collection, and the Asian & European Business Collection.
Psychology Database This link opens in a new window
A collection of psychology resources, including behavioral, clinical, cognitive, developmental, experimental, industrial and social psychology, along with personality, psychobiology, and psychometrics.
Research Library This link opens in a new window
A research database of highly respected scholarly journals, professional and trade publications, and magazines covering over 150 subjects and topics.
SAGE Journals This link opens in a new window
Full-text scholarly articles in the fields of humanities, social sciences, science, technology, and medicine.
Social Science Database This link opens in a new window
A collection of resources for social science disciplines, including anthropology, criminology, economics, education, political science, psychology, social work, and sociology.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary coverage of journals in the sciences, social sciences, arts and humanities. This databases provides indexes and links to cited references for articles and research metrics for authors. Includes the Arts & Humanities Citation Index and the Social Sciences Citation Index.

Browse Journals

If you have an article citation, you can use the Journal List to see if Farley library has the journal. Just type the journal title in the search box and click search. If it is available, the journal title will appear along with a list of databases that it is accessible in. Note the date ranges as these will determine if the specific issue of the journal is available

What is a journal article?

A scholarly journal is a publication created by scholars to report on new, original research in a discipline. Journals come out periodically - once a month, once a year, every three months, ect. Every article in a journal will typically deal with one topic - for example a single experiment or analysis of a text. In order to be considered scholarly, the articles must go through a peer-review process where experts in the field review the research to ensure that the research methods used are appropriate for that field.

It is essential to remember that while peer-reviewed articles receive more thorough vetting than any other source you can consult, their results may not tell the entire story about a topic. Many fields do not consider a point to have been proven until many researchers have replicated the results of an article, and articles are often part of a conversation among scholars on a topic. You will not often find a general introduction to a topic in a scholarly journal article - for that you should consult a book or a reference source.

Women's Studies Journals

Browse Women's Studies Journals by Subject:

Key Journals in Women's Studies:

Camera Obscura
Provides innovative feminist perspectives on film, television, & visual media. Includes debates, essays, interviews, & summary pieces which encompass a wide spectrum of media practices.
Differences
Focuses on the way concepts & categories of difference--notably but not exclusively gender--operate within culture.
Feminist Review
The journal was founded in 1979 with the objective of uniting "research and theory with political practice and contributing to the development of both." The journal remains committed to this objective and to the exploration and articulation of the socio-economic realities of women's lives. The aim is to promote materialist work which is informed by both socio-economic and cultural representational issues.
Feminist Studies
Feminist Studies, first published in 1972, is the oldest continuing scholarly journal in the field of women's studies published in the U.S. Contents of the journal reflect its commitment to publishing an interdisciplinary body of feminist knowledge, in multiple genres (research, criticism, commentaries, creative work), that views the intersection of gender with racial identity, sexual orientation, economic means, geographical location, and physical ability as the touchstone for its intellectual analysis.
Feminist Teacher
Feminist Teacher (FT) provides discussions of such topics as multiculturalism, interdisciplinary, and distance education within a feminist context. FT serves as a medium in which educators can describe strategies that have worked in their classrooms, institutions, or non-traditional settings; theorize about successes or failures; discuss the current place of feminist pedagogies and teachers in classrooms and institutions; and reveal the rich variety of feminist pedagogical approaches.
Feminist Theory
Feminist Theory is an international peer reviewed journal that provides a forum for critical analysis and constructive debate within feminism. Feminist Theory is genuinely interdisciplinary and reflects the diversity of feminism, incorporating perspectives from across the broad spectrum of the humanities and social sciences and the full range of feminist political and theoretical stances.
Gender and Society
Gender & Society (GENDSOC) is a peer-reviewed journal, focused on the study of gender. It is the official journal of Sociologists for Women in Society, and was founded in 1987 as an outlet for feminist social science. Currently, it is a top-ranked journal in both sociology and women's studies. Gender & Society publishes less than 10% of all papers submitted to it. Articles appearing in Gender & Society analyze gender and gendered processes in interactions, organizations, societies, and global and transnational spaces. The journal primarily publishes empirical articles, which are both theoretically engaged and methodologically rigorous, including qualitative, quantitative, and comparative-historical methodologies. Gender & Society also publishes reviews of books from a diverse array of social science disciplines.
Gender Issues
Peer reviewed articles on basic and applied research on the relationships between men and women; on similiarities & differences in socialization, personality, & behavior; & on the changing roles of women around the world.
Hypatia
Articles intended to encourage and communicate many different kinds of feminist philosophy.
Journal of Women's History
Articles and review essays of historical work by women.
Meridians
Provides a forum for the finest scholarship & creative work by & about women of color in U.S. & international contexts.
Nashim
Provides an international, interdisciplinary academic forum for the innovative work being done in the many areas of research that comprise the field of Jewish women's & gender studies. Includes articles on literature, text studies, anthropology, theology.
NWSA
The National Women's Studies Association Journal (NWSA Journal) publishes interdisciplinary and multicultural feminist scholarship focused on understanding women's lives. The NWSAJ accepts articles that are both theoretical and practical, thereby foregrounding the ways in which critical analysis can inform action both in and outside of academic settings.
Off Our Backs
off our backs is a newsjournal by, for, and about women. It was published continuously from 1970 to 2008, making it the longest surviving feminist newspaper in the United States. It is run by a collective where all decisions are made by consensus.
Psychology of Women Quarterly
Articles germane to the psychology of women, including sex-related comparisons, psychobiological factors, sexuality, social and cognitive processes, career choice and training, discrimination, harassment and violence and psychological distress.
Signs: Journal of Women in Culture and Society
Recognized as the leading international journal in women’s studies, Signs is at the forefront of new directions in feminist scholarship. The journal publishes pathbreaking articles, review essays, comparative perspectives, and retrospectives of interdisciplinary interest addressing gender, race, culture, class, nation, and sexuality. Special issue and section topics cover a broad range of geopolitical processes, conditions, and effects; cultural and social configurations; and scholarly and theoretical developments.
Tulsa: Studies in Women's Literature
Tulsa Studies in Women's Literature is a scholarly journal devoted to the study of the relations between women and writing of every period and in all languages. Publishing articles, notes, archival research, and reviews, Tulsa Studies seeks path-breaking literary, historicist, and theoretical work by both established and emerging scholars.
Women's Review of Books
Since 1983 the Women's Review of Books has provided a forum for serious, informed discussion of new writing by and about women. Women's Review of Books provides a unique perspective on today's literary landscape and feature essays and in-depth reviews of new books by and about women.
Women's Studies Quarterly
Since 1972 WSQ has been an interdisciplinary forum for the exchange of emerging perspectives on women, gender, and sexuality. Its thematic, special issues combine psychoanalytic, legal, queer, cultural, technological, and historical work to present the most exciting new scholarship on ideas that engage popular and academic readers alike.Along with scholarship from multiple disciplines, WSQ showcases fiction, creative nonfiction, poetry, and the visual arts.