LibGuides: Criminology: Criminology Databases and Journals

Start Searching

Find@Farley doesn't have everything! Check out the information below to search for more specific types of information. For more help searching, visit the Search Effectively page.

Criminology Databases

Below is a list of the most common criminology databases available. You can view a full list here.

Criminal Justice Database
Note: this database will be discontinued on July 1, 2025, and will be replaced with Criminal Justice Abstracts with Full Text.

A collection of full text criminal justice topics, including crime, its causes and impacts, legal and social implications, as well as litigation and crime trends.
National Criminal Justice Reference Service Abstracts
Contains summaries of more than 190,000 publications including books, government reports, research reports, and unpublished research. Topics covered within the database include corrections, courts, crime statistics, domestic preparedness, drugs, juvenile justice, law enforcement, and victims.
Social Science Database
Note: this database will be discontinued on July 1, 2025, and will be replaced with SocINDEX with Full Text.

A collection of resources for social science disciplines, including anthropology, criminology, economics, education, political science, psychology, social work, and sociology.
JSTOR
Full-text scholarly articles covering the arts and humanities, social and political sciences, mathematics and the hard sciences, as well as business and economics.
Nexis Uni
Formerly LexisNexis. A news, law, business, and reference resource that provides access to regional, national, and international newspapers, company financial information, SEC filings, U.S. Supreme Court cases, U.S. federal and state case law, codes, and regulations, law reviews, and international legal information.
ProQuest Central
Note: this database will be discontinued on July 1, 2025, and will be replaced with Academic Search Ultimate.

Search within a single database to find materials across all major subject areas, including business, health and medical, social sciences, arts and humanities, education, science and technology, and religion.
SAGE Journals
Full-text scholarly articles in the fields of humanities, social sciences, science, technology, and medicine.
ScienceDirect
A multidisciplinary database offering journal articles and book chapters in the fields of physical sciences, engineering, life sciences, health sciences, social sciences, and humanities.
Scopus
Scopus is an abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature. Delivering a comprehensive overview of the world's research output in the fields of science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts and humanities, Scopus features smart tools to track, analyze and visualize research.
Wiley Online Library
Find articles, books and reference works in the life, health, physical and social science fields, as well as in the humanities.

Google Scholar
Use Google Scholar to find free full-text articles. Sometimes certain open access articles aren't indexed in Find@Farley and can be found through Google Scholar. Always verify if the sources you find through Google Scholar are scholarly and/or peer reviewed!
Note: If using off campus, make sure Google Scholar is configured to show results for Farley Library resources. Go to Settings > Library Links > search for Wilkes University in the search box.
Full list of criminology databases

Publication Finder

Locate journals that the library owns online and in print in the Publication Finder.