LibGuides: Nursing: Nursing Databases

Start Searching

Find@Farley doesn't have everything! Check out the information below to search for more specific types of information. For more help searching, visit the Search Effectively page.

Nursing Databases

Below is a list of the most common nursing and health-related databases available. You can view a full list here.

CINAHL Ultimate This link opens in a new window
Full-text scholarly articles for the areas of nursing and allied health, including occupational therapy, physiotherapy, radiologic technology, laboratories, and social sciences. CINAHL Ultimate is an expanded version of CINAHL Complete that includes fewer embargos and more full text content.
Cochrane Library (Wiley) This link opens in a new window
Articles and protocols focusing on the effects of healthcare and evidence-based medicine, methods used in the conduct of controlled trials, bibliography of controlled trials, and clinical questions and evidence designed to inform decision making at the point of care.
DynaMed This link opens in a new window
A clinical reference tool created by physicians for physicians and other healthcare professionals for use primarily at the 'point-of-care' with clinically-organized summaries.
Click here for DynaMed mobile.
Health & Medical Collection This link opens in a new window
A collection of journals covering clinical and biomedical topics, consumer health, and health administration.
Health & Psychosocial Instruments (HAPI) This link opens in a new window
Resource for behavioral measurement tools used in nursing, public health, psychology, social work, communication, sociology, and organizational behavior or human resources.
Healthcare Administration Database This link opens in a new window
A collection of health management resources covering topics such as hospital administration, insurance, and health care law.
Nursing & Allied Health Premium This link opens in a new window
Resources for the fields of nursing and allied health, covering topics such as physiology, gerontology, histology and anatomy. Video content is also available.
Ovid Nursing Full Text Plus This link opens in a new window
Access to 50+ full text journals published by Lippincott Williams & Wilkins (LWW). Access includes The American Journal of Nursing, The Journal of Nursing Administration (JONA) and Nursing Administration Quarterly.
Ovid Emcare This link opens in a new window
Ovid Emcare includes nearly 5 million records of scholarly and peer-reviewed literature in nursing and allied health, including abstracts. Subject coverage in clinical medicine, health professions, nursing, pharmacology and public health. Note: this resource is limited to one user at a time.
Public Health Database This link opens in a new window
A collection of public health resources covering topics such as nutrition, physical fitness, social services, substance abuse, and more.
PubMed Central This link opens in a new window
National Library of Medicine's (NLM) digital archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
A free service of the National Library of Medicine (NLM) providing access to biomedical literature from MEDLINE, as well as additional life science journals and online books.
APA PsycArticles This link opens in a new window
Full-text articles in the fields of psychology and psychiatry from APA and allied organizations.
SAGE Journals This link opens in a new window
Full-text scholarly articles in the fields of humanities, social sciences, science, technology, and medicine.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
A multidisciplinary database offering journal articles and book chapters in the fields of physical sciences, engineering, life sciences, health sciences, social sciences, and humanities.
Symptom Media This link opens in a new window
Online resource for mental health education and training. This resource gives access to over 1,000 unique, concise training tools.

Note: Contact the Passan School of Nursing for login credentials and all other questions about this resource.
Wiley Online Library This link opens in a new window
Find articles, books and reference works in the life, health, physical and social science fields, as well as in the humanities.

Full list of nursing databases

Other Useful Databases

Google Scholar
Use Google Scholar to find free full-text articles. Sometimes certain open access articles aren't indexed in Find@Farley and can be found through Google Scholar. Always verify if the sources you find through Google Scholar are scholarly and/or peer reviewed!
Note: If using off campus, make sure Google Scholar is configured to show results for Farley Library resources. Go to Settings > Library Links > search for Wilkes University in the search box.

Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Formerly LexisNexis. A news, law, business, and reference resource that provides access to regional, national, and international newspapers, company financial information, SEC filings, U.S. Supreme Court cases, U.S. federal and state case law, codes, and regulations, law reviews, and international legal information.
ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window
Search within a single database to find materials across all major subject areas, including business, health and medical, social sciences, arts and humanities, education, science and technology, and religion.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Full-text scholarly articles covering the arts and humanities, social and political sciences, mathematics and the hard sciences, as well as business and economics.
Nature Journals Online This link opens in a new window
A collection of highly-respected journals in the fields of biological, chemical, earth, physical, and health sciences.
Scopus This link opens in a new window
Scopus is an abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature. Delivering a comprehensive overview of the world's research output in the fields of science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts and humanities, Scopus features smart tools to track, analyze and visualize research.