Find@Farley doesn't have everything! Check out the information below to search for more specific types of information. For more help searching, visit the Search Effectively page.
Class J - Political Science
Class K - Law
The Politics Book by
Learn about how the world of government and power works in The Politics Book. Part of the fascinating Big Ideas series, this book tackles tricky topics and themes in a simple and easy to follow format. Learn about Politics in this overview guide to the subject, great for novices looking to find out more and experts wishing to refresh their knowledge alike! The Politics Book brings a fresh and vibrant take on the topic through eye-catching graphics and diagrams to immerse yourself in. This captivating book will broaden your understanding of Politics, with: - More than 100 groundbreaking ideas in the history of political thought - Packed with facts, charts, timelines and graphs to help explain core concepts - A visual approach to big subjects with striking illustrations and graphics throughout - Easy to follow text makes topics accessible for people at any level of understanding The Politics Book is a captivating introduction to the world's greatest thinkers and their political big ideas that continue to shape our lives today, aimed at adults with an interest in the subject and students wanting to gain more of an overview. Delve into the development of long-running themes, like attitudes to democracy and violence, developed by thinkers from Confucius in ancient China to Mahatma Gandhi in 20th-century India, all through exciting text and bold graphics. Your Politics Questions, Simply Explained This engaging overview explores the big political ideas such as capitalism, communism, and fascism, exploring their beginnings and social contexts - and the political thinkers who have made significant contributions. If you thought it was difficult to learn about governing bodies and affairs, The Politics Book presents key information in a clear layout. Learn about the ideas of ancient and medieval philosophers and statesmen, as well as the key personalities of the 16th to the 21st centuries that have shaped political thinking, policy, and statecraft. The Big Ideas Series With millions of copies sold worldwide, The Politics Book is part of the award-winning Big Ideas series from DK. The series uses striking graphics along with engaging writing, making big topics easy to understand.
ProCon Headlines
ProCon Headlines provide nonpartisan background information on news happening in the world today.
Encyclopedia of American Government and Civics, Second Edition by
Articles herein address not only basic subjects covered in the study of American government -- from the Bill of Rights through voting processes--but also a wide range of contemporary issues such as abortion, capital punishment, and Social Security.
Encyclopedia of the American Presidency by
Praise for the previous edition:An altogether excellent introduction to the study of the presidency of the United States...--Library Journal...entries are well written...an excellent addition.--American Reference Books Annual...an excellent resource...recommended...--BooklistHighly recommended.--ChoiceThe most up-to-date reference of its kind, Encyclopedia of the American Presidency, Third Edition is the definitive guide to the role of the president from the American Revolution through the present day. Offering a complete account of the presidency in U.S. history, this A-to-Z encyclopedia will make a great first stop for students and general readers looking for information on the executive branch of the American government. Its comprehensive scope spans the relationship between the executive and the other branches of government, court cases, elections, political opponents, scandals, and more.A valuable resource that provides concise information, Encyclopedia of the American Presidency, Third Edition contains more than 700 entries.Entries include:Bully pulpitCommander in chiefEconomic policy Executive privilege ImpeachmentIraq WarThomas JeffersonMiddle EastMilitary tribunalsNew DealOval OfficeMike PenceFranklin D. RooseveltSituation roomDonald TrumpVeto powerWar powersWatergateWhite Houseand more.
50 Politics Classics: Freedom Equality Power by
From Abraham Lincoln to Nelson Mandela, and from Aristotle to George Orwell, 50 POLITICS CLASSICS distills the essence of the books, pamphlets, and speeches of the major leaders and great thinkers that drive real-world change. Spanning 2,500 years, left and right, thinkers and doers, Tom Butler-Bowdon's new book covers activists, war strategists, visionary leaders, economists, philosophers of freedom, feminists, conservatives and environmentalists, right up to contemporary classics suchas The Spirit Level and No Logo. Whether you consider yourself to be conservative, liberal, socialist, or Marxist, this book gives you greater understanding of the key ideas that matter in our politically charged times.
American Political Leaders by
Praise for the previous edition:...accessible...this book is an excellent addition to collections serving general readers, high schools, and undergraduates.--American Reference Books AnnualThis readable volume is recommended for high-school, public, and undergraduate libraries...--Booklist...[an] outstanding reference tool...Biographical dictionaries abound, in political science as in other fields...[but] Wilson's work is more accessible, benefitting from his straightforward approach and simpler organization...Highly recommended.--ChoiceRecommended.--Library Media Connection...an authoritative and readable guide...serves as a helpful resource for high school, college, and public libraries...--Christian Library JournalAmerican Political Leaders, Second Edition contains more than 250 biographical profiles of men and women in the United States who have demonstrated their political leadership primarily by being elected, nominated, or appointed to significant political offices in the United States or by having attained some special prominence associated with political leadership. This reference work provides students and general readers with a concise, readable guide to present and past leaders in U.S. politics.Included in this book are presidents, vice presidents, major party candidates for president, significant third-party candidates, important Supreme Court justices, Speakers of the U.S. House of Representatives, senators, representatives, cabinet officers, significant agency heads, and diplomats. Since much of U.S. political leadership involves the representation of successive waves of new groups within the U.S. political system, special care has been taken to include the contributions of women, Native Americans, African Americans, Hispanic Americans, Asian Americans, and Americans who represented earlier waves of immigrants to the United States.Profiles include:John Adams: president, vice president, diplomat, Revolutionary leader, authorMadeleine Korbell Albright: secretary of state, ambassador to the United NationsAaron Burr: vice president, senatorHenry Cisneros: secretary of housing and urban developmentJefferson Davis: secretary of war, senator, representative, president of the Confederate States of AmericaJames A. Farley: postmaster general, national party chairmanGeraldine Ferraro: candidate for vice president, representative, authorDaniel Ken Inouye: senatorHenry Cabot Lodge, Jr.: candidate for vice president, diplomat, senator, authorSandra Day O'Connor: associate justice of the Supreme CourtAdam Clayton Powell: representative.
American Constitutional Law: The Structure of Government by
The study of the Constitution and constitutional law is of fundamental importance to understanding the principles, prospects, and problems of America.American Constitutional Law, Volume I provides a comprehensive account of the nation's defining document, comparing how its provisions were originally understood by those who drafted and ratified it with contemporary constructions. The authors examine the constitutional thought of the founders, as well as interpretations of the Constitution by the Supreme Court, Congress, the President, lower federal courts, and state judiciaries to provide students with a sense of how the law has been interpreted over the years. Now fully updated, the ninth edition of this classic volume features several new cases includingNational Federation of Independent Business v. Sebelius, Arizona v. United States, andCaperton v. A. T. Massey Coal Company Visit westviewconlaw.com for instructor resources, including recently decided cases, material from prior editions, and a glossary.
Encyclopedia of Women and American Politics by
Praise for the previous edition:Honor Book, 2008 (Social Studies, Grades 7-12 category)--Society of School Librarians InternationalBest of Reference, 2009--The New York Public Library...a solid reference...Highly recommended especially for high school, college and public library shelves.--Midwest Book Review ...comprehensive, easy-to-use, and clearly written...An excellent resource.--School Library Journal...an excellent overview...recommended for high-school, academic, and public libraries and will be very useful for the casual reader as well as the scholar.--Booklist ...fascinating...Ease of use and the phenomenal breadth of this resource make it a great choice for middle and high school students.--SLJ Curriculum Connections...essential for any women's studies collection...indispensable...Highly Recommended.--Library Media Connection, starred reviewRecommended.--ChoiceEncyclopedia of Women and American Politics, Second Edition contains all the material a reader needs to understand the role of women throughout America's political history. This informative A-to-Z volume contains hundreds of entries covering the people, events, and terms involved in the history of women and politics.Entries include:AbortionJane AddamsThe birth control movementHillary Rodham ClintonDomestic violenceEqual Rights Amendment (ERA)Gabrielle GiffordsGlass ceilingLeague of Women VotersMichelle ObamaJacqueline Kennedy OnassisSonia SotomayorElizabeth Warrenand many more.