Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.


AccessPharmacy: Getting Started

What Is AccessPharmacy?

About AccessPharmacy  

AccessPharmacy from McGraw-Hill Medical is designed to meet the changing demands of pharmacy education and practice today. Updated regularly and optimized for viewing on any device, this comprehensive, content-rich online pharmacy resource allows users to explore leading pharmacy references, search curriculum topics, research drugs and supplements.

Guided by a preeminent Advisory Board that includes two top academic experts, Terry L. Schwinghammer, PharmD, and Joseph T. DiPiro, PharmD, AccessPharmacy is the pharmacy field’s most trusted website.

AccessPharmacy gives pharmacy students instant access to videos, games, Q&A, and leading pharmacy textbooks that will establish an important foundation for learning, and allows practicing pharmacists to get information instantly about drugs, herbs and supplements, and consult features and editorials concerning the vast array of current pharmacy publications.

Why is AccessPharmacy unique?

AccessPharmacy provides unique benefits that deliver indispensable support in pharmacy education and actual practice – through these exclusive interactive features:

  • Leading pharmacy textbooks – References that are central to pharmacy education, including the complete current edition of the most comprehensive text on pharmacotherapy available today, DiPiro’s Pharmacotherapy: A Pathophysiologic Approach. AccessPharmacy also offers texts such as the Lange Basic & Clinical Pharmacology and Drug Information: A Guide for Pharmacists and posts frequent textbook and topic updates. 
  • While not included in AccessPharmacy but available as an additional subscription, Pharmacotherapy Principles and Practice is a micro-collection of this popular McGraw-Hill  pharmacotherapy text and its accompanying Study Guide.
  • Quick Reference – Users will find Quick Answers, a concise outline of common conditions and disorders at your fingertips-whether used as a high-yield review for studying or for quick reference in the clinical setting.
  • Extensive multimedia library – A unique multimedia collection featuring detailed drug interaction animations of complicated concepts. Videos illustrating fundamental medical concepts drawn from the world’s most trusted medical textbook, Harrison’s Principles of Internal Medicine, give pharmacy students the breadth of knowledge necessary to become an integral part of a health care team. 
  • Drug therapy cases – More than 150 drug-therapy cases with questions and care plans that students can design and submit to faculty to aid in critical thinking and problem analysis. Also available to course directors is a secure instructor’s guide with an organized answer key. Instructors: To receive a copy of this answer key, email Customer Success for more information.
  • Extensive self-assessment - With more than 10,000 Q&A in basic science, pharmacotherapy, and NAPLEX review, users can rate their skills and identify their strong and weak areas, making test-taking easier. The Top 300 Prescription Drugs Challenge allows users to quiz themselves on need-to-know medications. Plus, our Top 300 Drugs Flashcards are a fun, fast way to learn essential information about the top 300 most commonly prescribed drugs! In addition, the AccessPharmacy Flashcards are Q&A cards that provide a complete review of pharmacotherapeutic concepts for the major disease states most often encountered in practice.
  • Topics in Evidence-Based Pharmacy Practice - Features and editorials to aid students, faculty, and clinicians sort through a vast amount of available pharmaceutical information and provide critical appraisals of studies and trials and recommendations that can affect decision making.
  • Integrated drug database – Look up dosing information, indications, adverse reactions, and pricing quickly for generic and brand-name drugs – along with an herb/supplement database with more than 1,100 unique entries.

Visit the AccessPharmacy support page on the Access User Center for helpful user resources, and view the AccessPharmacy Network for the Drug of the Week, Drug Card Scavenger Hunt, Pharmacy Management Tip of the Week, and NAPLEX Question of the Week.

Note: You may need to connect to your institution's subscription for access to the resources in this LibGuide.

MyAccess Profile

To engage with AccessPharmacy and its content and resources, users need to create a free MyAccess profile (upper-right sign in dropdown menu) in AccessPharmacy. Users are encouraged to login each time they use the site. Download the PDF flyer below to learn more about creating a MyAccess profile.

Multimedia

Pharmacy Calculations Lectures are available in AccessPharmacy, including:

  • Alligation and Altering Drug Concentrations
  • Dosing by Body Weight and Body Surface Area‚Äč
  • Intravenous Infusion Rates, Times, and Volumes‚Äč
  • Molarity and Milliequivalents
  • Molarity and Osmolarity
  • Percentages and Other Measures of Concentration
  • Pharmacy Calculations Overview
  • Powder Displacement Volume and Conversions Between Forms

View the complete AccessPharmacy video library at this link, including: 

  • Cardiovascular Disorders
  • Endocrinologic Disorders
  • Gastrointestinal Disorders
  • Hematologic Disorders
  • Neurologic Disorders
  • Pharmacy Assessment
  • Respiratory Disorders
  • Rheumatologic Disorders

Engaging videos by Scott Sutton, PharmD, covering difficult subject areas for students, including:

  • Antiarrhythmia Medications
  • Human Immunodeficiency Virus Medications
  • Statistics: Confidence Interval
  • Statistics: Probability Value (p-value)
  • Statistics: Scales of Measurement and Measure of Central Tendency
     

Learn the fundamental principle of physical examination. Developed by The Ohio State University College of Medicine's Department of Family Medicine, these interactive modules bring the sights and sounds of the physical examination live.

  • Head and Neck
  • Cardiovascular
  • Musculoskeletal
  • Thorax and Lungs
  • Abdominal
  • Neurological
     

Pharmacy Management Curriculum

Learn the fundamental principles of pharmacy management. These PowerPoints provide the user with lecture and comprehension questions.

The Pharmacology Lectures on AccessPharmacy provide short, student-friendly animations based upon Katzung & Trevor’s Basic and Clinical Pharmacology, 12e.

Harrison's Pathophysiology Animations

Each episode covers a disease mechanism. The running time of each animation is a student-friendly 4-8 minutes. Nationally regarded educator Scott Stern, MD, from the Unversity of Chicago wrote and narrated each episode, giving our series authenticity often lacking on medical animations.  

Linking to Content

Instructors can link to content in AccessPharmacy through their LMS using the durable URLs found in the browser of all text and chapter content, multimedia, cases, study tools, and clerkship content. For a tutorial on how to link to content in AccessPharmacy via durable URLs, please view the brief video below.

Training

Webinar Series

  • General Overview Webinars:
    • Sign up to attend an upcoming webinar. The session provides an overview of site features and available content.
  • Archived Webinars:
    • Browse our list of past webinars and register to view a recorded session. 

To request live custom training for your institution, email Customer Success at CustomerSuccess@mheducation.com

Overview of AccessPharmacy

Titles

In the Books tab in AccessPharmacy, you will find some of the leading current, authoritative text resources. Check out the library at these links:

  • Complete Full-Text Library 
  • Archived Textbooks
    • In the archived textbooks page, browse previous editions of textbooks or other books retired from the site. The archive provides access to older editions of textbooks hosted on AccessPharmacy for purposes of reference.

Check out these new and noteworthy texts in AccessPharmacy:


Applied Physical Pharmacy, 2e

  • Explores the fundamental physicochemical properties and processes important for understanding how drugs are transformed into usable and stable drug products that release their drug upon administration, and for understanding the different processes that the released drug may encounter on its way to its pharmacological target prior to being eliminated by the body.

Goldfrank's Toxicologic Emergencies, 11e

  • The “Bible” of toxicologic emergencies, this text is used by poison control centers across the U.S. and around the world.
  • In this edition, the authors offer readers an approach to medical toxicology using evidence-based principles viewed through the lens of an active bedside clinical practice.
  • This great resource includes end-of-the chapter summaries, antidotes in depth, special considerations, cases and insights of six toxicologists as lead editors who work with the gifted scholars they have selected as chapter authors. They have masterfully expanded the concept of the patient narrative in the Case Studies section. These are the patients who challenge toxicologists. Patients whose signs and symptoms that are related to the entire book or several chapters. The cases also serve as a guide to the understanding of the thought processes and approach to patient management.

Goodman & Gilman's: The Pharmacological Basis of Therapeutics, 13e

  • The gold-standard of pharmacology texts and completely updated to reflect the latest research and developments. A Doody’s Core Title for 2019! 
  • Goodman & Gilman’s: The Pharmacological Basis of Therapeutics, 13/e, represents the pinnacle of authority and accuracy in describing the actions and uses of therapeutic agents in relation to physiology and pathophysiology. Goodman & Gilman’s careful balance of basic science and clinical application has guided thousands of practitioners and students to a clear understanding of the drugs essential to preventing, diagnosing, and treating disease.
  • The 13th edition includes more than 500 color illustrations, with many new figures emphasizing mechanisms of drug action.  More than 30 new contributors have added to this edition, while the focus on basic principles is undiminished. 
  • This edition is enhanced by timely new content.

Pharmacotherapy: A Pathophysiologic Approach, 11e

  • Advance the quality of patient care through evidence-based medication therapy derived from sound pharmacotherapeutic principles.

Pharmacy Management: Essentials for All Practice Settings, 5e

  • Combines evidence-based management theories with practical solutions for the issues pharmacists face every day. Enhanced by input from educators, researchers, students and practicing pharmacists, this edition addresses the evolving role of pharmacists in today’s every-changing environment. 

 

Drug Information: A Guide for Pharmacists, 6e

  • Teaches students and practitioners how to effectively research, interpret, evaluate, collate, and disseminate drug information in the most efficient and effective manner possible. Updated to reflect the realities of today’s practice, the book also addresses important issues such as the legal and ethical considerations of providing drug information.  

Principles of Research Design and Drug Literature Evaluation, 2e

  • Provides students and faculty with strong foundational principles of clinical research and drug literature evaluation techniques to provide evidence-based pharmaceutical care.

Quick Reference

The Quick Reference section of AccessPharmacy provides quick diagnosis and treatment answers.

NAPLEX Central

NAPLEX Central - This is a comprehensive NAPLEX tool with questions, review videos, and selected readings. 

MPJE Review - The MJPE review guides were created by seasoned pharmacists who have recently taken and passed the MPJE® exams. Our state specific review tools are based off previous customer feedback. They are meant to be an extensive, yet simple guide to pass your board exams. These study guides will save you from weeks of frustration and help focus on key points to study for specific state MPJE® exams.

Contact Us

For help, please reach out to Customer Success at McGraw Hill at CustomerSuccess@mheducation.com

For institutional accounts:

  • Please reach out to Customer Success for help with a technical issue, an existing institutional subscription, a trial subscription, marketing materials, setting up a training session and more.

For individual subscribers:

  • For help with an individual subscription, please email Online Customer service (OnlineCustomer_Service@mheducation.com) between 8 a.m. and 5 p.m. EST. You may also call 1-888-307-5984 (toll free within the United States).

Feedback:

Cases

Cases in AccessPharmacy provide materials for short, targeted case-based learning. They vary slightly, but for each case you get a patient history and systems review, short answer questions, clinical pearls, and references. Cases are durable URL-enabled and can be linked to in coursework, e.g., LMS, lecture slides, etc. The results of the quizzes can be emailed and collected for a grade, e.g., student to instructor.

Cases can be generated from these resources in AccessPharmacy:

  • Pharmacology Casebook and Care Plans
  • Standardized Patient Cases
  • Pharmacy Practice and Tort Law
  • Case Files: Pharmacology
  • Pathophysiology Cases
  • Virtual Cases

Study Tools

The Study Tools tab in AccessPharmacy provides: 

  • Flashcards
  • Review Questions which are great for self-assessment with review Q&A. Users can generate random and custom quizzes, and the results can be emailed. You must be signed into your MyAccess account to use the Review Questions.
  • Top 300 Prescription Drug Challenge - Test yourself on the top 300 drugs. Tiers correspond to PharmD 4-year programs. Each tier should test content appropriate to the corresponding year.
  • Top 300 Drugs Flashcards - A fun, fast way to learn essential information about the top 300 most commonly prescribed drugs! These digital flashcards flip to reveal need-to-know facts, and each drug is accompanied by several multiple choice questions to test your memory skills.
  • Top 100 Nonprescription Drug Cards - Top 100 Non Prescription Drug Cards are designed to provide both pharmacological and clinical facts about active ingredients in non-prescription drugs.
  • Top 200 Injectable Flashcards - This set of flash cards provides key information about the top 200 most frequently ordered injectable medications. It includes the most common cancer chemotherapy agents, parenteral anti-infectives, medications administered intravenously to patients in the critical care environment, as well as the most common parenterally-administered specialty medications. These cards are a useful resource for students preparing for or participating in clerkships, internships and residency rotations in the hospital setting, in clinics (especially in cancer clinics and infusion centers), or in specialty pharmacies.
  • Top 100 Nonprescription Drug Challenge - Test yourself on the Top 100 Non-Prescription drugs. Tiers correspond to PharmD 4-year programs. Each tier should test content appropriate to the corresponding year.
  • Courses in Therapeutics and Disease State Management - Modules include course syllabi, powerpoint slides, and assessments designed for students seeking self-study and review and faculty developing course materials for online or traditional lecture formats.
  • Pill in the Blank - Test your skills with this hangman-inspired word game! Get hints to pharmacy study questions and guess letters to reveal the answers.
  • Play Showdown! - Challenge colleagues on their knowledge, quiz-bowl style! You and your opponent will battle through two rounds of questions, each with five categories ranging from 100 to 400 points, plus a final question worth 500 points. Like other turn-based games, you can play live or opt in to get email notifications when it's your turn. You can also hone your skills by challenging the computer.