LibGuides: Education: Library Resources

Start Searching

Find@Farley doesn't have everything! Check out the information below to search for more specific types of information. For more help searching, visit the Search Effectively page.

Library Resources

Education Databases
Publication Finder
Locate journals that the library owns online and in print.
Dissertations and Theses
Books and eBooks
Education-Related Reference Resources
InterLibrary Loan
Online Education Resources

Education Databases

Below is a list of the most common education and education-related databases available. You can view a full list here.

Education Database
A collection of resources covering education topics, including primary, secondary, and higher education, as well as special education, home schooling, and adult education.
ERIC (ProQuest)
Education literature and resources included in the Current Index of Journals in Education and Resources in Education Index. Note: This version of ERIC uses ProQuest's user interface. It has the same articles available as the EBSCO version.
ERIC (US Government)
Education literature and resources included in the Current Index of Journals in Education and Resources in Education Index. Note: Researchers are encouraged to use ERIC (ProQuest) or ERIC (EBSCO) rather than ERIC (US Government) for more full text options.
JSTOR
Full-text scholarly articles covering the arts and humanities, social and political sciences, mathematics and the hard sciences, as well as business and economics.
Nexis Uni
Formerly LexisNexis. A news, law, business, and reference resource that provides access to regional, national, and international newspapers, company financial information, SEC filings, U.S. Supreme Court cases, U.S. federal and state case law, codes, and regulations, law reviews, and international legal information.
ProQuest Central
Search within a single database to find materials across all major subject areas, including business, health and medical, social sciences, arts and humanities, education, science and technology, and religion.
SAGE Journals
Full-text scholarly articles in the fields of humanities, social sciences, science, technology, and medicine.
Wiley Online Library
Find articles, books and reference works in the life, health, physical and social science fields, as well as in the humanities.
Google Scholar
Scholarly, multidisciplinary database for access to articles, papers, books, theses, etc. in the social sciences, humanities, and sciences.
Note: If using off campus, make sure Google Scholar is configured to show results for Farley Library resources. Go to Settings > Library Links > search for Wilkes University in the search box.

Full list of education databases

Journal List

Locate journals that the library owns online and in print in the Journal List.

Books and eBooks

Use the Classic Catalog for all print and electronic books in Farley Library. You can also find books through the Summon search, but note that the Classic Catalog searches books only.

Physical books can only be checked out at the Farley Library. If you are a distance learner, investigate your local public library's InterLibrary Loan service in order to have books to delivered to your location.

EBSCO eBooks
E-books covering the topics of art, business and economics, education, literary criticism, medical, performing arts, philosophy, social science, technology and engineering, and more. See instructions for downloading EBSCO eBooks.
ProQuest eBooks
A collection of ebooks covering subjects such as Business, Medical Sciences, History, Economics, and other subjects.
Project MUSE eBooks
A collection of ebooks covering subjects in the humanities, arts and social sciences.

WorldCat
Searches library catalogs worldwide. You can request any resource you find in WorldCat for free via InterLibrary Loan.

Browse Books By Call Number

L - Education (general)
LA - History of Education
LB - Theory and practice of education
LC - Special aspects of education
LH - College and school magazines and papers
LJ - Student fraternities and societies (United States)
LT - Textbooks

Education-Related Reference Resources

Credo Reference
An online reference collection of dictionaries, subject encyclopedias, handbooks, gazetteers, atlases, directories, and more.

The SAGE Encyclopedia of Higher Education by Miriam E. David (Editor); Marilyn J. Amey (Editor)
Call Number: online
ISBN: 9781473942912
Publication Date: 2020-07-27
A History of Western Philosophy of Education by Megan J. Laverty (Editor); David T. Hansen (Editor)
Call Number: online
ISBN: 9781350074668
Publication Date: 2021-02-25
Encyclopedia of Educational Philosophy and Theory by Michael A. Peters (Editor)
Call Number: online
ISBN: 9789812875877
Publication Date: 2017-09-18
The SAGE Handbook of Inclusion and Diversity in Education by Matthew J. Schuelka (Editor); Christopher J. Johnstone (Editor); Gary Thomas (Editor); Alfredo J. Artiles (Editor)
Call Number: online
ISBN: 9781526435552
Publication Date: 2019-11-19

Dissertations and Theses

Dissertations & Theses @ Wilkes University
Dissertations and theses authored by Wilkes University graduate students.
EBSCO Open Dissertations
Full text of open access dissertations and theses free of charge using the EBSCO platform.

ProQuest Dissertations & Theses
This can also be accessed by entering Advanced Search in ProQuest and selecting "Dissertation/Thesis" in the Document Type.

ProQuest Dissertations and Theses
This can also be accessed by entering Advanced Search in ProQuest and selecting "Dissertation/Thesis" in the Document Type.

Search WorldCat
This will take you to the advanced search engine of Worldcat. Change FORMAT to "Thesis, Dissertation." Conduct either KEYWORD, TITLE, or AUTHOR search. Many results will link to full text.

Online Resources

Pennsylvania Department of Education
A government website for the consumers of education: Pennsylvania's parents, educators, students and taxpayers.
Education Week
This is the free electronic edition of Education Week.
Chronicle of Higher Education
Offers articles related to the latest news in higher education. Create a free account to access two free articles per month.
Harvard Graduate School of Education - Websites for Educators
A collection of resources, chosen and maintained by Gutman Library Research Services staff, that provides links to freely available sites of interest to educators.
Standards Aligned System (SAS)
Pennsylvania Standards describe what students should know and be able to do as they progress through school. Using this tool, you can locate specific standards, anchors, and eligible content based on subject area and grade level or course. Select the subject area and grade level, or select the course to view the related standards.
Test Link Database
The Test Collection at ETS is a database of tests and other measurement devices. It is the largest database of its kind and includes tests from the early 1900s to the present.