History

Video archive of the Associated Press, including recent and historical news coverage from 1895 to the present.

The Avalon Project contains documents relevant to the fields of Law, History, Economics, Politics, Diplomacy and Government. Content is accompanied by links to supporting documents expressly referred to in the body of the text. Collections include documents from Ancient history to the present.

A digital library created by the Institute of Historical Research and the History of Parliament Trust containing primary and secondary sources that are essential for the study of British history from the 11th to 19th centuries.

Digitized editions of the official reports of debate in the British Parliament from 1802 to 2005.

Cold War Origins digital exhibit

The Wilson Center Digital Archive is a resource where students, researchers, journalists, and others can access once-secret documents from governments and organizations all over the world.

Instructions for using Early English Books at Wilkes University. Microfilm full text of books included in Pollard & Redgrave and Wing' s Short Title Catalogues.

EGO examines 500 years of modern European history by transcending national, disciplinary and methodological boundaries. The subjects range from religion, politics, science and law, to art and music, as well as to the economy, technology and the military. Ten thematic threads enable a systematic approach to accessing the project's content. EGO links refereed academic articles to images, primary sources, statistics, animated and interactive maps, as well as audio and video clips.

Links to open access sources important to European history, from prehistoric and ancient times to the present. Links are organized by country, from Albania to Vatican City.

Digitized items from Europe's museums and libraries.

An index of scholarly digital repositories of European primary sources. Search for repositories by their country, language, period, topic, or type of source. If you don't see a link on this page to the type of primary resource that you want, EHPR may help you identify it.

Collection of digitized resources documenting French culture, including books, manuscripts, maps, images, sound recordings and more.

This catalogue currently contains descriptions and digitised images of material dating from the reigns of George I to William IV, including personal letters, diaries, account books and records of the Royal Household.

Digitized manuscripts from the collection of Matthew Parker (1504-75). Parker was an important figure in the English reformation, and his library includes a wide variety of important works in English history, including the Anglo-Saxon chronicle, bibles, poetry, illuminated manuscripts, travelogues, maps, and works of theology and music.

Searchable full text editions of the Proceedings of the Old Bailey from 1674-1913. The texts describe 197,745 trials held in the Bailey.

The WDL makes it possible to discover, study, and enjoy cultural treasures from around the world on one site, in a variety of ways. These cultural treasures include, but are not limited to, manuscripts, maps, rare books, musical scores, recordings, films, prints, photographs, and architectural drawings. Be sure to apply date and geographic limits to searches in this collection.

Records early viking raids on the British Isles.

To bring the wealth of Irish literary and historical culture (in Irish, Latin, Anglo-Norman French, and English) to the Internet in a rigorously scholarly and user-friendly project for the widest possible range of readers and researchers. CELT (the Corpus of Electronic Texts) caters for academic scholars, teachers, students, and the general public, all over the world. Texts are accompanied by introductions, background information, graphics, translations where possible, and scholarly bibliographies. CELT is integrated into the teaching and research community of UCC, and far beyond. It draws on the resources of that community and contributes to its work.

The Christians Classics Ethereal Library contains hundreds of classic Christian works, including hymns, creeds, and even fiction.

Digital Scriptorium is a growing consortium of American libraries and museums committed to free online access to their collections of pre-modern manuscripts. Our website unites scattered resources from many institutions into a national digital platform for teaching and scholarly research. It serves to connect an international user community to multiple repositories by means of a digital union catalog with sample images and searchable metadata. Many DS records also link out to the websites of our contributors, where users can discover further information.

The Vikingeskibsmuseet, (Viking Ship Museum) contains good leads on sources for Viking Age researchers.

This website contains all the extant Icelandic family sagas, made available in a variety of open formats using modernized Icelandic spelling, with the Old Norse versions and translations into English and other languages made available where these exist in the public domain.

Links to works by Snorri Sturluson including:
The Younger Edda; Also called Snorre's Edda, or The Prose Edda
Heimskringla; Or, The Chronicle of the Kings of Norway
The Sagas of Olaf Tryggvason and of Harald the Tyrant (Harald Haardraade)

Epistolae is a collection of letters to and from women dating from the 4th to the 13th century AD. These letters from the Middle Ages, written in Latin, are presented with English translations and are organized by the women participating. Biographical sketches of the women and descriptions of the subject matter or the historic context of the letter is included where available.

Digitized and free items from Europe's museums and libraries. Search for keywords like "women" to find depictions of women in manuscripts, prints, and objects. Be careful to apply date limits to your results, since this collection stretches well beyond the Middle Ages.

Feminae: Medieval Women and Gender Index covers primary sources, journal articles, book reviews, and essays in books about women, sexuality, and gender during the Middle Age. To find primary texts in English, go the advanced search screen and click the "More Searches for Texts" button. Then type "translation" in the "Article Type" box.

Links to a wide variety of medieval primary sources on women's lives. This resource is a great way to find sources on a specific topic, such as class or religion. Most of the linked sources are in English, however, the project does include some dead links.

With a database of images, texts, charts and historical maps, Mapping Gothic France invites you to explore the parallel stories of Gothic architecture and the formation of France in the 12th and 13th centuries, considered in three dimensions: space, time, and narrative.

Primary texts documenting the involvement of Christian women in religion and society in medieval Europe. The collection actively seeks to provide access to medieval texts that have not otherwise been published. Not all texts are available in English.

The WDL makes it possible to discover, study, and enjoy cultural treasures from around the world on one site, in a variety of ways. These cultural treasures include, but are not limited to, manuscripts, maps, rare books, musical scores, recordings, films, prints, photographs, and architectural drawings. Be sure to apply date and geographic limits to searches in this collection.