Wilkes University Archives and Special Collections Terms of Access and Use

The mission of Wilkes University Archives and Special Collections is to select, preserve, and provide access to records that document the programs, people, and history of Wilkes University and the Wyoming Valley region. We provide access to all patrons of the Wilkes University community including staff, students, and faculty, as well as the general public.  We provide access to reference services and the records in our care without discrimination or preferential treatment, and in accordance with legal requirements, institutional policies, and donor agreements.

Patrons must comply with the following rules. The rules protect collections and ensure their continued availability for future researchers.

Physical Access

1.  Patrons are prohibited from entering the Harold Cox Archives Room unless an Archives staff member or the Library Dean is present.

2. Some Wilkes University Archives and Special Collections are housed offsite. To guarantee access to collections housed elsewhere, patrons must contact Archives staff at least two full business days in advance of a research visit. Library and Archives staff will not disclose the location of other storage areas to patrons.

3.  Patrons must fill out a registration form and provide a valid photo identification in order to access Archives and Special Collections.  Patrons who do not carry a valid Wilkes University ID must provide a valid driver’s license/state ID, which Archives Staff will photocopy and retain with registration paperwork.

4.  All Patrons must access all Archives and Special Collections materials inside the Harold Cox Archives Room. The exceptions are as follows:

a) A specific Wilkes University department plans to use the document(s) in an exhibition, cultural performance, or university publication. In these cases, the University Department will arrange a temporary loan at the discretion of the Library Dean.  Patrons or University Departments must request a loan at least two weeks in advance.

c) Private donors may impose restrictions with specific time limitations on collections donated to the Archives. Such restrictions must be documented in the Deed of Gift and Collection Finding Aids. Donors and University Departments are allowed to access collections that they have donated and restricted. However, they may not grant access to others as such permission would constitute unequal access to the Archives’ collections.

d) Unprocessed archival and manuscript collections are generally considered closed for research. However, the Archives will consider requests for access to such collections on a case-by-case basis.

5.  Patrons may work with only one folder from a box or one book at a time at the research table. An Archives staff member will bring the items to the patron. When the patron is finished, the patron will inform the staff member and they will retrieve the next item.

6. Patrons are strictly prohibited from browsing in the archives stacks.

7.  Patrons must use care when handling documents, and may not write on, fold, or re-arrange any documents in the collection.  Patrons will use gloves when handling photographs, and may not remove any materials from their encasings, bindings, or folders.

8. Pencils are the only writing implements allowed in the Reading Room while archival materials are in use. A supply is available in the Harold Cox Archives Room. Please return them before leaving. Personal computers may be used (removed cases) for taking notes while using material from the collection. “Flags” or markers are available for indicating material that needs to be scanned. Other methods of marking materials for copying may not be used.>

9. Patrons may be allowed to use personal digital cameras to take their own photographs of books and archival materials. Just as with photocopies and digital images, patrons must obtain permission from the Archives staff prior to shooting any digital images. These images are intended only for personal research use and cannot be published without consent of the appropriate copyright holders.

10.   Food or Drink is strictly prohibited in the Harold Cox Archives Room.

11. Unauthorized removal of any item for any reason may result in loss of Farley Library readership and study privileges, and prosecution under the General Laws of Pennsylvania.

Preferred Citations

The Archives will provide researchers with the correct citation information crediting the repository and identifying items within its holdings.

Collection Development Policy

Purpose

The Wilkes University Archives selects, preserves, and makes available records that document the programs, people, and history of Wilkes University and the Wyoming Valley. The Archives supports both administrative functions of the university and research by students, faculty, and scholars

To select, preserve, and make available records that document the programs, people, and history of Wilkes University and the Wyoming Valley in support of the educational, research, and administrative activities of the Wilkes community.

Scope

The University Archives serves as the final repository for the historical records of Wilkes University, including university publications and other records documenting the operation of the university and the activities of its students, faculty, and staff. There is a preference for material whose provenance can be documented. In limited cases, we may serve as a repository for essential records still in use by the university.

Types of Materials

University Archives collects:

  • University Publications
  • University governance and administrative records
  • University department and unit records
  • Records and personal papers of alumni, faculty, staff, and board members
  • Photographs
  • Graduate theses, dissertations, and advanced projects
  • Blueprints and architectural drawings
  • Selected University pamphlets, posters, and artifacts
  • Books published by or about Wilkes University and its alumni, faculty, staff, and board members
  • Published books that support the interpretation of historical documents in the collection

Physical Condition

Where possible, University Archives prefer to select items in good condition that can be preserved easily through basic techniques such as appropriate housings and temperature controls.  However, archivists can conserve, preserve, and make available essential records of university history in poor condition when there are no substitute records available in good condition.

Archives Reference Collection

The archives collects a non-circulating reference collection of works on archival theory and practice and the history of Wilkes University and the Wyoming Valley.

Collections

Our collection currently consists of University publications and the papers of Wilkes faculty, staff, administration and board members. Highlights include papers from the Flood Recovery Task Force, the Wilkes University Institute of Regional Affairs and the Gilbert McClintock Collection, which includes records documenting the early history of the Wyoming Valley and the Revolutionary War.

The archives is actively seeking to grow our collections and welcomes donations pertaining to Wilkes activities and history.  For more information, contact Suzanna Calev (suzanna.calev@wilkes.edu), ext. 2012.

Services

The Wilkes University Archives selects, preserves, and makes available records that document the programs, people, and history of Wilkes University and the Wyoming Valley. The Archives also seeks to educate members of the Wilkes community and the public about the University’s history, by providing access to the collections and contributing to campus cultural events and publications. The Archives provides educational opportunities for students so that they can learn the research process and develop skills that will prepare them to enter the workforce.

Staff Directory