New Book Highlights

Inclusion Revolution

We are in the midst of a global reckoning on racism, and corporations are on high alert. Public statements of anti-racism are no longer enough. But managers, especially those sandwiched between the C-Suite and their entry-level colleagues, feel that they don't have the power and influence to affect the level of change we need to see in the world. In Inclusion Revolution, award-winning diversity advocate Daisy Auger-Domínguez shows that this is simply not true: we can all take action in our organizations today. By sharing the best practices honed through years of working as a leading executive in diversity at Google, Disney, and Vice, Auger-Domínguez delivers clear-cut strategies on achieving workplace equity. She examines how companies can find diverse talent, how to confront a problematic referral culture, and how to restructure interviews and the hiring process to eliminate bias. Instead of encouraging mentoring, she shows how training sponsors on effectively and sensitively supporting colleagues can go farther in shoring up retention. She exposes how one-day diversity trainings and even affinity groups can become counterproductive, if structured incorrectly. And she shows how executive-level diversity councils and even external diversity boards can more effectively enact policy changes and hold companies accountable. Through her guidance and through examples from companies that are doing the work well-to dramatic and lasting results-Auger-Domínguez shows readers how to hire, retain, and grow diverse talent and build a truly inclusive workplace. Inclusion Revolution is not a blueprint for check-the-box diversity trainings; it's not a prescription to being politically correct in the workplace. This is a book of action for those who are willing to realize equity in their organizations and confront the pervasive inequities at work. It's a book about building change that lasts, because through the best teams, and the broadest audience reach, companies can finally build a stronger future.

In Defense of Witches

Mona Chollet celebrates the witch as a symbol of female rebellion and independence in the face of misogyny and persecution. Centuries after the infamous witch hunts that swept through Europe and America, witches continue to hold a unique fascination for many: as fairy tale villains, practitioners of pagan religion, as well as feminist icons. Witches are both the ultimate victim and the stubborn, elusive rebel. But who were the women who were accused and often killed for witchcraft? What types of women have centuries of terror censored, eliminated, and repressed? Chollet explores three types of women who were accused of witchcraft and persecuted: the independent woman, since widows and celibates were particularly targeted; the childless woman, since the time of the hunts marked the end of tolerance for those who claimed to control their fertility; and the elderly woman, who has always been an object of at best, pity, and at worst, horror. Examining modern society, Chollet concludes that these women continue to be harassed and oppressed. Rather than being a brief moment in history, the persecution of witches is an example of society's seemingly eternal misogyny, while women today are direct heirs to those who were hunted down and killed for their thoughts and actions. With arguments that range from the scholarly to the cultural, this book seeks to unite the mythic image of the witch with modern women who seek to live their lives on their own terms.

We Uyghurs Have No Say

Ilham Tohti is an intellectual and economist, a prolific writer, and formerly the host of a website, Uyghur Online. In 2014, Tohti was arrested by the Chinese authorities, accused of advocating separatism, violence, and the overthrow of the Chinese government, subjected to a two-day trial, and sentenced to life. Nothing has been heard from him since. This collection of his essays gathers together his open-hearted calls for justice, scholarly explanations of the history of Xinjiang, and poignant personal reflections

COVID's Impact on Health and Healthcare Workers

The primary symptoms of mild and moderate COVID infections are reviewed, with focus on unique symptoms, such as loss of smell and taste. The decision to hospitalize patients has been based primarily on a patient's pulmonary status, which can deteriorate rapidly. Hospital critical care includes proning, intubation, mechanical ventilation, anticoagulation, and corticosteroids. Mortality rates improved with more experience in treating hospitalized patients but have increased as the rate of COVID-19 infections in the general population have climbed. There has also been an increase in deaths from non-COVID diseases since the pandemic began, because of delayed care in other acute and chronic diseases.

Manchu Princess, Japanese Spy

Aisin Gioro Xianyu (1907–1948) was the fourteenth daughter of a Manchu prince and a legendary figure in China's bloody struggle with Japan. After the fall of the Manchu dynasty in 1912, Xianyu's father gave his daughter to a Japanese friend who was sympathetic to his efforts to reclaim power. This man raised Xianyu, now known as Kawashima Yoshiko, to restore the Manchus to their former glory. Her fearsome dedication to this cause ultimately got her killed.

Yoshiko had a fiery personality and loved the limelight. She shocked Japanese society by dressing in men's clothes and rose to prominence as Commander Jin, touted in Japan's media as a new Joan of Arc. Boasting a short, handsome haircut and a genuine military uniform, Commander Jin was credited with many daring exploits, among them riding horseback as leader of her own army during the Japanese occupation of China.

While trying to promote the Manchus, Yoshiko supported the puppet Manchu state established by the Japanese in 1932―one reason she was executed for treason after Japan's 1945 defeat. The truth of Yoshiko's life is still a source of contention between China and Japan: some believe she was exploited by powerful men, others claim she relished her role as political provocateur. China holds her responsible for unspeakable crimes, while Japan has forgiven her transgressions. This biography presents the richest and most accurate portrait to date of the controversial princess spy, recognizing her truly novel role in conflicts that transformed East Asia.

MeXicana Fashions: Politics, Self-Adornment, and Identity Construction

Collecting the perspectives of scholars who reflect on their own relationships to particular garments, analyze the politics of dress, and examine the role of consumerism and entrepreneurialism in the production of creating and selling a style, meXicana Fashions examines and searches for meaning in these visible, performative aspects of identity.

Focusing primarily on Chicanas but also considering trends connected to other Latin American communities, the authors highlight specific constituencies that are defined by region (“Tejana style,” “L.A. style”), age group (“homie,” “chola”), and social class (marked by haute couture labels such as Carolina Herrera and Oscar de la Renta). The essays acknowledge the complex layers of these styles, which are not mutually exclusive but instead reflect a range of intersections in occupation, origin, personality, sexuality, and fads. Other elements include urban indigenous fashion shows, the shifting quinceañera market, “walking altars” on the Days of the Dead, plus-size clothing, huipiles in the workplace, and dressing in drag. Together, these chapters illuminate the full array of messages woven into a vibrant social fabric.

From criminalizing to Decriminalizing Marijuana : The Politics of Social Control

This book tracks the political history and specific political actions associated with the diffusion of state-level marijuana decriminalization. It provides an integrated chronology of policy diffusion to show how social and cultural changes have impacted the shift from anti- to pro-marijuana political platforms. The main contributions are an interdisciplinary approach to analyzing policy learning and evolution, an overview of the political history of marijuana criminalization, a clear synthesis of the medical literature on cannabis effects, and a supply and demand analysis of legal and illegal marijuana markets in America. For scholars of criminal justice, law, political science, policy studies, sociology and addiction, it provides an amalgam of the diverse and divergent extant research on marijuana.

Ethics of Chemistry : From Poison Gas to Climate Engineering

From poison gas in WWI to climate engineering of the future, this volume covers the most important historical cases of chemistry. It draws lesson from major disasters of the past, such as in Bhopal and Love Canal, or from thalidomide, Agent Orange, and DDT. It further introduces to ethical arguments pro and con by discussing issues about bisphenol-A, polyvinyl chloride, and rare earth elements; as well as of contested chemical projects such as human enhancement, the creation of artificial life, and patents on human DNA. Moreover, it illustrates chemical engagements in preventing hazards, from the prediction of ozone depletion, to Green Chemistry, and research in recycling, industrial substance substitution, and clean-up. Students also learn about codes of conduct and chemical regulations.

Classic Catalog

Find Other Books & Collections

Wilkes University Graduate Theses and Dissertations

The following bibliographies are an alphabetical listing by author of all Wilkes University graduate theses dissertations, separated by degree, cataloged by the E.S. Farley Library, and held in University Archives. Contact a librarian at the Reference Desk on the first floor to gain access to these titles. New theses and dissertations are automatically added to this list as they are received and cataloged by the Library.

Bibliographies