To access the full-text, click on the book title. Please make sure you're logged into the Wilkes Portal before accessing our eBook content.
Frameworks for Advanced Nursing Practice and Research by
This resource illuminates the daunting task of understanding and applying philosophies, theories, models, and taxonomies in nursing practice and research at the master's or doctoral level. Distinguished by a unique organizational structure, the text is divided into two broad areas of practice/focus: individuals and families (Part II) and communities, populations, and systems (Part III). The frameworks in each area are organized conceptually into 17 chapters, many of which are interdisciplinary, thus not commonly found in nursing theory texts. This unique organizational structure enables readers to acquire both a broad overview of frameworks useful in nursing practice and research, and to focus on frameworks relevant to specific practice areas and concepts of interest. Frameworks for Advanced Nursing Practice and Research also provides foundational knowledge to enhance the nurse's understanding and appreciation of frameworks used in practice and research (Part I). Application is woven throughout the text and culminates with chapters devoted to the use/implementation of frameworks for nurse educators, clinicians, leaders, and researchers (Part IV). Learner-focused features of the text include key terms; objectives; application boxes highlighting published studies that have employed selected frameworks, thereby bringing theoretical content into practice; and bulleted summaries to enhance the learning experience. Key Features: Describes a broad spectrum of philosophies, theories, models, and taxonomies underpinning graduate-level nursing rolesUniquely organized by conceptual areas, thereby integrating nursing and non-nursing frameworksFacilitates easy comparison of frameworks within each conceptual areaDelivers strategies for using theory and discusses integration of theory, research, and practiceIncludes application boxes highlighting published studies, as well as objectives, key terms, and bulleted chapter summaries
Nursing Research: Reading, Using, and Creating Evidence by
Nursing Research: Reading, Using, and Creating Evidence, Fifth Edition is a foundational text for students which teaches the basics for creating and using evidence in nursing practice. Written in a conversational tone, the hallmark of this text is its readability and the author's skillfulness in simplifying otherwise complex topics such as evidence-based care, qualitative and quantitative studies, and translation of research to practice. Evidence-based practice is an integral part of nursing. Today's nurse needs to demonstrate proficiency in reading research, determining its use in their practice, and participating in the research process. The Fifth Edition is intuitively organized around the three main competencies - reading, using and creating evidence - all of which enable the reader to translate research into evidence in a practical way. This text is intended to teach and support the clinical practice of students, professional nurses returning to school, and practicing nurses that must apply evidence to patient care.
Fast Facts for Patients: Menopause by
The menopause, and the time around menopause, can be a stage of life when many women experience symptoms ranging from mild to debilitating. Much can be done to help, including lifestyle changes, hormone replacement therapy (HRT) and treatments for individual symptoms.Written by specialists, reviewed by patients, and packed with practical tips, this second edition of 'Fast Facts: Menopause for Patients' provides the information you need to have an informed discussion with your healthcare professional and to help you choose how you want to manage your menopause transition. Spaces have been provided to help you keep notes on your menopause journey and record any questions you may have.With detailed sections on the biology of menopause, how it can affect your life and work, and HRT, you can be sure to find answers to your most pressing questions. Tips for partners, useful resources, and a glossary complete this understandable and comprehensive guide. Table of Contents: * What is the menopause * What's happening with my hormones? * Other reasons for menopause * How will the menopause transition affect me? * Managing the common symptoms * Sex and the menopause * Lifestyle changes to help manage symptoms * Long-term consequences of the menopause * Hormone replacement therapy (HRT) * Weighing up the benefits and risks of HRT * The long-term benefits of HRT * HRT and breast cancer * FAQs about HRT * Tips for partners * Menopause and the workplace * Breaking the taboo and getting support
Nurse Burnout by
Nursing is more than a job. It is a profession that attracts those who value compassion, want to make a difference in other people's lives, and want to do greater good in the world. While the profession provides endless options of practice, settings, and flexibility, nurses are burning out due to schedules, long shifts, mental and physical exhaustion, workload, conflict and bullying, challenging patients, rapid advances in technology, and lack of control. And when stress and fatigue take over a nurse's ability to prioritize self-care and recovery time, patient safety and quality is greatly affected and compromised. Nurse Burnout: Overcoming Stress in Nursing explores the stress- fatigue-burnout connection, the risks involved, and defines the health concerns and practice considerations for how to move the profession forward. Author Suzanne Waddill-Goad provides nurses with the tools they need set boundaries and combat compassion fatigue in order to renew energy to be at your personal and professional best.
Health Equity and Nursing by
Authored by highly respected nurse educators, leaders, and scholars, this text focuses on the power of nursing to make substantive contributions to improving the health of all populations. It delivers an in-depth examination and analysis of current issues and determinants of health as outlined by Healthy People 2020 and addresses AACN's Essentials of Doctoral Education for Advanced Nursing Practice.Along with principles, pathways, and imperatives pertinent to achieving health equity, the text discusses the evolution of thinking from eliminating health disparities to achieving health equity, and examines population-based and population-specific inequities in health status and outcomes. Highlighting the importance of interprofessional collaboration, it surveys timely initiatives, programs, and professionals-within and outside of the health sciences-who are important partners in efforts toward achieving health equity. Chapters are highly templated to include objectives, key concepts, critical-thinking questions, discussion questions, and resources. Key Features: Focuses on the power of nursing to make substantive contributions to improving the health of all populations Examines principles, pathways, and imperatives pertinent to achieving health equity Discusses economic, environmental, personal, social, and structural factors that impact health status and outcomes Highlights the importance of interprofessional collaboration in achieving health equity Addresses AACN's Essentials of Doctoral Education for Advanced Nursing Practice Demonstrates key concepts and stimulates reflection through critical-thinking and discussion questions Purchase includes access to the eBook for use on most mobile devices or computers
Johns Hopkins Evidence-Based Practice for Nurses and Healthcare Professionals, Fourth Edition by
The dynamic and competitive US healthcare environment requires healthcare professionals who are accountable to provide efficient and effective care. New evidence is continually surfacing in nursing and medical environments. Consumer pressure and increased patient expectations place an even greater emphasis on the need for healthcare professionals to deliver true evidence-based care in their daily practice. Johns Hopkins Nursing is steadfastly dedicated to making it easy for frontline nurses, health professionals, and students to use best evidence in their everyday practice. With each edition, we revise based on the honest, frank, and generous feedback we receive from frontline users of the Johns Hopkins Evidence-Based Practice Model from across the globe. In this fourth edition, we are excited to be able to share these changes. The 2021 revised JHEBP Model underscores the need for organizations to cultivate both a spirit of inquiry and an environment of learning that encourages questioning and seeking best evidence and its implementation and adoption in practice. Although our model was developed, tested, and implemented by and for nurses, we have had numerous requests and feedback from other health professionals to use the Hopkins model. Thus, we introduce the fourth edition with a new title-Johns Hopkins Evidence-Based Practice for Nurses and Healthcare Professionals. This change reflects the growing evidence base of the importance for interprofessional collaboration and teamwork, particularly when addressing complex care issues such as those often tackled by EBP teams. In this edition, our overarching aim is to provide practical and pragmatic explanations, approaches, and tools to guide and support teams engaging in EBP projects: We explicitly reflected the interprofessional nature of the EBP process and its use by all disciplines who serve, interact with, and care for those who seek services.We revised the flow of the book chapters across the sections to reflect the progression of steps in the EBP process.We included a new introduction for the evidence section that includes background on the use of evidence hierarchies, tips for differentiating research from quality improvement, and further explanation of the summary and synthesis steps in the evidence process.We made significant enhancements to the appendices by including flowcharts, decision supports, and greater specificity in the directions.We provided real-world examples for how to complete all tools using feedback from our global users as well as tried and tested helpful hints.We added a new chapter to expand and amplify strategies for dissemination that includes how to create a dissemination plan, audience-specific recommendations for internal and external dissemination venues, details of the pros and cons of different types of dissemination, guidance on submitting manuscripts for publication, and an overview of the journal review process.Chapter-specific enhancements: Chapter 3: Defines critical thinking and clinical reasoning and differentiates their use in the PET process.Chapter 4: Outlines stakeholder selection criteria and an algorithm to determine the need for an EBP project.Chapter 5: Includes new information on the literature screening process to navigate a large number of results Chapter 6: Provides useful clarifications of research approaches, designs, and methods with a focus on frontline staff as the target audienceChapter 8: Includes revised synthesis and translation steps; assesses risk prior to translation; prioritizes translation models accessible to frontline staff with a focus on the QI methodology and PDSA; and describes an expanded list of outcome measures to determine the success of an EPB project.
Bipolar by
It is estimated that as many as fifty percent of patients initially diagnosed with major Unipolar depression (UP, MDD) will subsequently incur a manic episode or discover a past subtle episode and will have had Bipolar depression rather than MDD. The average Bipolar individual suffers with episodic symptoms for ten years before receiving an accurate diagnosis. As many as 16 million individuals in the United States will have a Bipolar episode in their lives, diagnosed or not. With the recognition of these growing numbers of patients with a Bipolar Disorder, it is imperative that patients are diagnosed and treated earlier, accurately and efficiently. Untreated Bipolar usually gets worse. Bipolar aims to improve recognition, acceptance, and compliance. Dr. C. Raymond Lake applies two different approaches , comprehensive research and case studies, to the understanding of Bipolar Disorders, presenting basic, selected Bipolar data including history, diagnostic criteria, definitions of terms, and classifications, as well as management and treatment strategies to help the reader fully comprehend the disorder. In addition, case studies provide the reader with real-life examples to help increase recognition of various Bipolar presentations beyond the stark black-and-white diagnostic criteria of the DSM and ICD.
Statistics for Nursing: a Practical Approach by
Each new print copy includes Navigate 2 Advantage Access that unlocks a comprehensive and interactive eBook, student practice activities and assessments, a full suite of instructor resources, and learning analytics reporting tools.Statistics for Nursing: A Practical Approach, Third Edition is designed in accordance with the Conversation Theory of Gordon Pask and presents the complicated topic of statistics in an understandable manner for entry level nurses. The underlying principle of this design is to give students the opportunity to practice statistics while they learn statistics. The text accomplishes this through the inclusion of relevant clinical examples followed by end of chapter application exercises.The Third Edition has been updated with practice activities which enable students to apply the content they have learned. In addition, the authors have included new research articles to develop and reinforce literature critiquing skills. These new features provide more opportunities for students to apply the concepts learned while the explanations are beneficial to clinical experts interested in further developing evidence-based skills. This text meets the needs of both undergraduate nursing research students who need to learn how to critically analyze literature as well as graduate DNP students who must also be familiar with statistics for nursing in accordance with the rigor of the DNP program. New to the Third Edition:* Additional review questions* New and updated graphs and figures* Updated lesson content for computer application exercises
Fast Facts about LGBTQ+ Care for Nurses: How to Deliver Culturally Compe by
Fills a crucial need in helping nurses to provide safe, culturally-competent care to LGBTQ+ patientsThis pivotal resource-the first written specifically for nurses-focuses on the unique health needs and inequities affecting LGBTQ+ patients and discusses how to provide them with safe, respectful, and holistic care. Written in an easy-access bulleted format with concise paragraphs, this book sets the stage by examining the background and history of the LGBTQ+ population and focusing on the health disparities that set them apart. It addresses the nursing implications and care of LGBTQ+ patients in all practice settings, highlighting transgender medical, surgical, and mental health. To help nurses create inclusive environments, chapters cover best practices and strategies for appropriate communication and define key terms nurses should know when obtaining patient history, performing an assessment, and delivering overall care. Fast Facts About LGBTQ+ Care delivers resources to help nurses create and sustain changes within their practice and beyond. A multitude of case studies demonstrate the importance of collecting gender identity in the electronic health record and span a variety of scenarios nurses are likely to encounter. Key Features: Fills a critical need in the nursing literature on providing safe and culturally competent care for LGBTQ+ patients Illuminates communication best practices and terminology to help nurses feel comfortable caring for LGBTQ+ patients Features "Fast Facts" boxes and abundant case studies that highlight essential information Covers developing and integrating LGBTQ+ content into nursing education Includes tips and guides to promote advocacy for the LBGTQ+ population
The View from Somewhere by
#MeToo. #BlackLivesMatter. #NeverAgain. #WontBeErased. Though both the right- and left-wing media claim "objectivity" in their reporting of these and other contentious issues, the American public has become increasingly cynical about truth, fact, and reality. In The View from Somewhere, Lewis Raven Wallace dives deep into the history of "objectivity" in journalism and how its been used to gatekeep and silence marginalized writers as far back as Ida B. Wells. At its core, this is a book about fierce journalists who have pursued truth and transparency and sometimes been punished for it--not just by tyrannical governments but by journalistic institutions themselves. He highlights the stories of journalists who question "objectivity" with sensitivity and passion: Desmond Cole of the Toronto Star; New York Times reporter Linda Greenhouse; Pulitzer Prize-winner Rachel Kaadzi Ghansah; Peabody-winning podcaster John Biewen; Guardian correspondent Gary Younge; former Buzzfeed reporter Meredith Talusan; and many others. Wallace also shares his own experiences as a midwestern transgender journalist and activist who was fired from his job as a national reporter for public radio for speaking out against "objectivity" in coverage of Trump and white supremacy. With insightful steps through history, Wallace stresses that journalists have never been mere passive observers--the choices they make reflect worldviews tinted by race, class, gender, and geography. He upholds the centrality of facts and the necessary discipline of verification but argues against the long-held standard of "objective" media coverage that asks journalists to claim they are without bias. Using historical and contemporary examples--from lynching in the nineteenth century to transgender issues in the twenty-first--Wallace offers a definitive critique of "objectivity" as a catchall for accurate journalism. He calls for the dismissal of this damaging mythology in order to confront the realities of institutional power, racism, and other forms of oppression and exploitation in the news industry. Now more than ever, journalism that resists extractive, exploitive, and tokenistic practices toward marginalized people isn't just important--it is essential. Combining Wallace's intellectual and emotional journey with the wisdom of others' experiences, The View from Somewhere is a compelling rallying cry against journalist neutrality and for the validity of news told from distinctly subjective voices.
Delivering Culturally Competent Nursing Care by
Newly revised and updated, Delivering Culturally Competent Nursing Care, Second Edition, explores the cross-cultural interactions and conflicts between nurses and the diverse array of patients they may see. Culturally competent nurses can cut through preconceptions, reduce health disparities, and deliver high-quality care as they encounter patients from a range of backgrounds and beliefs. As frontline providers for diverse populations, nurses are expected to treat each patient with empathy and respect. This text addresses what it really means to be culturally competent in nursing practice. As representatives of specific cultural, racial, ethnic, and sociopolitical groups, nurses bring their own values, beliefs, and attitudes to all interactions with patients and with one another. Whether or not nurses choose to make their attitudes explicit, these attitudes ultimately influence the quality of care they provide to patients. The content of this book is grounded in the Staircase Model, which builds upon the nurse's own self-assessment to identify personal limitations, find strategies to improve cultural competence, and progress to the next level. This text features case scenarios that apply the process of cultural competence to different healthcare situations. What's NewThree New ChaptersChapter 12: Caring for Patients Who Are Morbidly ObeseChapter 13: Caring for VeteransChapter 14: Caring for ChildrenExpanded content on caring for LGBTQIA communityPowerPoint slides provided for instructors Key FeaturesAddresses AACN competenciesProvides easy-to-follow self-assessment using the Staircase ModelLearning Objectives and Key Terms are identified in each chapterOverview of each chapter provides current information about trends in the United States on the topic under discussionProvides an excellent cultural competency preparation for student nurses in clinical situations as well as for practicing nurses at all levels and areas of nursingPresents content on immigration and transgender individuals
Situation Specific Theories: Development, Utilization, and Evaluation in Nursing by
This book fills the gap in the literature on nursing theories by presenting the background information on situation specific theories such as philosophical bases and current status of situation specific theories and providing a collection of situation specific theories that have been developed. It provides specific guidelines for nursing research and practice, essentials for PhD and DNP students to complete the requirements for their degrees (e.g., dissertation, QI project). In addition, this book can be used in theory courses in other graduate nursing programs that require theoretical bases for their comprehensive exam or scholarly project (e.g., MSN, NP). Throughout nursing history, nursing theories have evolved within the contexts of changing and emerging theoretical needs of nursing discipline. Subsequently, several different types of nursing theories have been proposed, developed, and used in nursing education, research, and practice. Situation specific theories could be easily adopted and used in nursing practice and research due to their foci on specific populations or particular fields. Since situation specific theories were firstly proposed in 1990s, they became a major part of nursing theories in the past two decades, making this book appeals to all levels of nursing students.
The Nursing Associate at a Glance by
Everything you need to know about The Nursing Associate ... at a Glance! The Nursing Associate at a Glance is a comprehensive guide developed to support trainee nursing associates with revision and practice-based learning, helping readers to uphold and maintain their Code of Conduct, promote healthy behaviours, treat ill health, and provide and monitor care effectively. Aligned with the six Nursing and Midwifery Council standards of proficiency for nursing associates, the book provides indispensable information about a range of areas of care including: How to contribute to integrated care, including how to be resilient and how to understand the various roles of health and social care teams How to improve the safety and quality of care, including an examination of health and safety legislation and the use of risk assessment tools How to effectively work in teams, including positive interaction with other members of the care team and how to manage data How to provide and monitor care, including discussions of deteriorating, anxious and confused patients Perfect for trainee nursing associates seeking to successfully graduate from the nursing associate programme, The Nursing Associate at a Glance provides readers with the skills and knowledge required to be competent, confident and compassionate nursing associates.
Evidence-Based Physical Diagnosis by
Fully updated from cover to cover, incorporating over 200 new studies on the evidence-based approach to diagnosis, the 4th Edition of Evidence-Based Physical Diagnosis remains your go-to resource for guidance on interpreting physical signs, enabling you to determine the most appropriate physical finding to confirm a diagnosis. Internationally renowned author Dr. Steven McGee puts the most current evidence at your fingertips, allowing you to quickly compare all physical signs for a given diagnosis, understand their significance, and then select the most accurate ones. Includes a unique evidence-based calculator online that enables you to easily determine probability using likelihood ratios. Features a reader-friendly outline format, including dozens of "EBM boxes" and accompanying "EBM ruler" illustrations. Provides new evidence on the scientific value of many physical findings, including Cheyne-Stokes respirations, subclavian stenosis, fever of unknown origin, porto-pulmonary hypertension, localization of stroke, and many more. Expert Consult eBook version included with purchase. This enhanced eBook experience allows you to search all of the text, figures, images, videos, and references from the book on a variety of devices. NEW two-color format improves readability and helps you find essential information faster. NEW Key Teaching Points at the beginning of every chapter, ideal for teachers of bedside medicine.