To access the full-text, click on the book title. Please make sure you're logged into the Wilkes Portal before accessing our eBook content.
Fast Facts: Chronic Lymphocytic Leukemia by
Chronic lymphocytic leukemia (CLL) is the most diagnosed leukemia in the Western world, accounting for approximately 25% of all new leukemia diagnoses. In recent years, remarkable progress has been made in our understanding of both the pathophysiology and genetics of CLL. While the disease generally affects older adults and initially follows an indolent course, cytogenetic and molecular profiling have helped to predict clinical outcomes. Greater prognostication, alongside the development of an increasing armamentarium of novel targeted therapies, has enabled us to provide more personalized management options for patients. 'Fast Facts: Chronic Lymphocytic Leukemia' covers the epidemiology, etiology, diagnosis and staging of the disease, and the molecular and genetic aspects that underpin treatment and prognosis. It provides a concise overview of treatment options, in both the front-line and relapsed/refractory settings, with particular focus on the novel targeted agents that have overcome many adverse prognostic factors, improving overall survival. Table of Contents: * Epidemiology and etiology * Molecular biology and genetics * Diagnosis, staging and prognosis * Management * Research directions
Iranian Women and Gender in the Iran-Iraq War by
Eighteen months after Iran's Islamic Revolution in 1979, hundreds of thousands of the country's women participated in the Iran-Iraq War (1980 - 88) in a variety of capacities. Iran was divided into women of conservative religious backgrounds who supported the revolution and accepted some of the theocratic regime's depictions of gender roles, and liberal women more active in civil society before the revolution who challenged the state's male-dominated gender bias. However, both groups were integral to the war effort, serving as journalists, paramedics, combatants, intelligence officers, medical instructors, and propagandists. Behind the frontlines, women were drivers, surgeons, fundraisers, and community organizers. The war provided women of all social classes the opportunity to assert their role in society, and in doing so, they refused to be marginalized. Despite their significant contributions, women are largely absent from studies on the war. Drawing upon primary sources such as memoirs, wills, interviews, print media coverage, and oral histories, Farzaneh chronicles in copious detail women's participation on the battlefield, in the household, and everywhere in between.
Gender Equity in Elementary Schools : A Road Map for Learning and Positive Change by
Gender bias is well established in children by age 6, so creating environments where all children can learn without bias requires an understanding of the components of gender bias and the related challenges. This book supports educators by giving them the language to talk about gender equity, the tools to assess issues of inequity in their schools, and methods to create healthier and better-balanced school culture and curriculum.This book will help educators develop ways to identify implicit bias, address imbalances, and direct more positive and balanced messages for all students. The book provides very useful information on reflective practice, action plan development, and changing the visual culture of schools. It also includes practical and engaging ways to integrate gender equity lessons within content area classes and creating a school-wide initiative.The book shares positive work in the field of gender equity and serves as a guide for educators and school districts in advancing their goals. It explores what gender equity looks and sounds like in a school setting. It also includes professional development ideas for teaching staff as well as activities and common core lesson integration plans across elementary grades and content areas.
MeXicana Fashions : Politics, Self-Adornment, and Identity Construction by
Collecting the perspectives of scholars who reflect on their own relationships to particular garments, analyze the politics of dress, and examine the role of consumerism and entrepreneurialism in the production of creating and selling a style, meXicana Fashions examines and searches for meaning in these visible, performative aspects of identity. Focusing primarily on Chicanas but also considering trends connected to other Latin American communities, the authors highlight specific constituencies that are defined by region ("Tejana style," "L.A. style"), age group ("homie," "chola"), and social class (marked by haute couture labels such as Carolina Herrera and Oscar de la Renta). The essays acknowledge the complex layers of these styles, which are not mutually exclusive but instead reflect a range of intersections in occupation, origin, personality, sexuality, and fads. Other elements include urban indigenous fashion shows, the shifting quinceañera market, "walking altars" on the Days of the Dead, plus-size clothing, huipiles in the workplace, and dressing in drag. Together, these chapters illuminate the full array of messages woven into a vibrant social fabric.
Wolf Whistle Politics : The New Misogyny in America Today by
The 2016 election year may be remembered as a year to forget, but for American women in politics and feminists alike it was unforgettably distressing--a flash point illuminating both the true state of play for women in public life and feminist politics in the early twenty-first century. Wolf Whistle Politics is a book that tries to account for, contextualize, and even make some sense out of this trying political chapter in American history. With an introduction by Naomi Wolf and pieces by leading journalists and essayists ranging from Lindy West's "Donald and Billy on the Bus," to Amy Davidson's "What Wendy Davis Stood For," and Rhon Manigault-Bryant's "Open Letter to White, Liberal Feminists," this collection comprises the best political reporting and socio-historical analysis on everything from the contentious meaning of a potential first female president to the misogynist overtones of Hillary Rodham Clinton's electoral defeat by Donald Trump; from rape culture to reproductive rights; Pantsuit Nation to poor women of color; media double standards to hashtag activism. Together these pieces form a constellation aptly symbolized by the lascivious "wolf whistle," a demeaning, sexually loaded catcall which, unlike the racial "dog whistle," has nothing subtle or covert about it. Wolf Whistle Politics shines a bright light on the complex relationship between women and politics today, reflecting on what we lost, what we won, and what we can do to move forward.
Undiversified: The Big Gender Short in Investment Management by 
The New Slave Narrative : The Battle Over Representations of Contemporary Slavery by
A century and a half after the abolition of slavery in the United States, survivors of contemporary forms of enslavement from around the world have revived a powerful tool of the abolitionist movement: first-person narratives of slavery and freedom. Just as Frederick Douglass, Harriet Jacobs, and others used autobiographical testimonies in the fight to eradicate slavery, today's new slave narrators play a crucial role in shaping an antislavery agenda. Their writings unveil the systemic underpinnings of global slavery while critiquing the precarity of their hard-fought freedom. At the same time, the demands of antislavery organizations, religious groups, and book publishers circumscribe the voices of the enslaved, coopting their narratives in support of alternative agendas. In this pathbreaking interdisciplinary study, Laura T. Murphy argues that the slave narrative has reemerged as a twenty-first-century genre that has gained new currency in the context of the memoir boom, post-9/11 anti-Islamic sentiment, and conservative family-values politics. She analyzes a diverse range of dozens of book-length accounts of modern slavery from Africa, Asia, the United States, the United Kingdom, and Europe, examining the narrative strategies that survivors of slavery employ to make their experiences legible and to promote a reinvigorated antislavery agenda. By putting these stories into conversation with one another, The New Slave Narrative reveals an emergent survivor-centered counterdiscourse of collaboration and systemic change that offers an urgent critique of the systems that maintain contemporary slavery, as well as of the human rights industry and the antislavery movement.
Manchu Princess, Japanese Spy : The Story of Kawashima Yoshiko, the Cross-Dressing Spy Who Commanded Her Own Army by
Aisin Gioro Xianyu (1907-1948) was the fourteenth daughter of a Manchu prince and a legendary figure in China's bloody struggle with Japan. After the fall of the Manchu dynasty in 1912, Xianyu's father gave his daughter to a Japanese friend who was sympathetic to his efforts to reclaim power. This man raised Xianyu, now known as Kawashima Yoshiko, to restore the Manchus to their former glory. Her fearsome dedication to this cause ultimately got her killed. Yoshiko had a fiery personality and loved the limelight. She shocked Japanese society by dressing in men's clothes and rose to prominence as Commander Jin, touted in Japan's media as a new Joan of Arc. Boasting a short, handsome haircut and a genuine military uniform, Commander Jin was credited with many daring exploits, among them riding horseback as leader of her own army during the Japanese occupation of China. While trying to promote the Manchus, Yoshiko supported the puppet Manchu state established by the Japanese in 1932--one reason she was executed for treason after Japan's 1945 defeat. The truth of Yoshiko's life is still a source of contention between China and Japan: some believe she was exploited by powerful men, others claim she relished her role as political provocateur. China holds her responsible for unspeakable crimes, while Japan has forgiven her transgressions. This biography presents the richest and most accurate portrait to date of the controversial princess spy, recognizing her truly novel role in conflicts that transformed East Asia.
From Criminalizing to Decriminalizing Marijuana by
This book tracks the political history and specific political actions associated with the diffusion of state-level marijuana decriminalization. It provides an integrated chronology of policy diffusion to show how social and cultural changes have impacted the shift from anti- to pro-marijuana political platforms. The main contributions are an interdisciplinary approach to analyzing policy learning and evolution, an overview of the political history of marijuana criminalization, a clear synthesis of the medical literature on cannabis effects, and a supply and demand analysis of legal and illegal marijuana markets in America. For scholars of criminal justice, law, political science, policy studies, sociology and addiction, it provides an amalgam of the diverse and divergent extant research on marijuana.
Inclusive Instruction for Students with Emotional and Behavioral Disorders by
Inclusive Instruction and Students with Emotional and Behavioral Disorders: Pulling Back the Curtain discusses the challenges of the increasingly common practice of educating students with disabilities in general education classrooms, citing that these challenges are often due to the fast pace of instruction, the emphasis on advanced concepts and skills that align with college and career-readiness standards, and the presence of poorly developed prerequisite skills that are necessary for traditional academic success. This book posits that these challenges are particularly salient to the education of students receiving special education services for emotional disturbance (ED), as students with ED have pervasive learning and behavioral difficulties that are often resistant to typical instruction and intervention. Contributors argue that despite increased awareness and application of inclusive mindsets, school and post-school outcomes for this student population continue to be a national concern in the United States. In this book, contributors provide recommendations for improving the manner in which schools serve this student population through inclusive measures, along with resources for administrators, teachers, and parents/guardians, that emphasize the provision of a free appropriate public education for students with ED. Scholars of education, disability studies, and psychology will find this book particularly useful.
Teaching Through Challenges for Equity, Diversity, and Inclusion (EDI) by
Colleges and universities cannot ignore the increasingly diverse student population in their classrooms, and how a focus on equity, diversity, and inclusion across disciplines trains students in the intercultural awareness they will need in competitive job markets. Yet while faculty may be aware of a need to understand EDI goals in relationship to their disciplines, and institutions may support EDI in theory, the onus of pedagogical training in EDI often falls on individual faculty. This book was written by faculty and administrators for educators who value the goals of EDI, and seek an intellectual community to help them develop their practice. Important to this book is an honest discussion of common challenges faculty may face when they engage in this difficult work, and effective strategies for addressing those challenges. The chapters are grouped according to six different themes: respect for divergent learning styles; inclusion and exclusion; technology and social action; affective considerations; reflection for critical consciousness; and safe spaces and resistance.
Use the Power You Have : A Brown Woman’s Guide to Politics and Political Change by
Use the Power You Have is Jayapal's account of the path from sixteen-year-old Indian immigrant to grassroots activist, state senator, and now progressive powerhouse in Washington, DC. Written with passion and insight, Use the Power You Have offers a wealth of ideas and inspiration for a new generation of engaged citizens interested in fighting back and making change, whether in Washington or in their own communities.
Tainted Witness : Why We Doubt What Women Say About Their Lives by
In 1991, Anita Hill's testimony during Clarence Thomas's Senate confirmation hearing brought the problem of sexual harassment to a public audience. Although widely believed by women, Hill was defamed by conservatives and Thomas was confirmed to the Supreme Court. The tainting of Hill and her testimony is part of a larger social history in which women find themselves caught up in a system that refuses to believe what they say. Hill's experience shows how a tainted witness is not who someone is, but what someone can become. Why are women so often considered unreliable witnesses to their own experiences? How are women discredited in legal courts and in courts of public opinion? Why is women's testimony so often mired in controversies fueled by histories of slavery and colonialism? How do new feminist witnesses enter testimonial networks and disrupt doubt? Tainted Witness examines how gender, race, and doubt stick to women witnesses as their testimony circulates in search of an adequate witness. Judgment falls unequally upon women who bear witness, as well-known conflicts about testimonial authority in the late twentieth and early twenty-first centuries reveal. Women's testimonial accounts demonstrate both the symbolic potency of women's bodies and speech in the public sphere and the relative lack of institutional security and control to which they can lay claim. Each testimonial act follows in the wake of a long and invidious association of race and gender with lying that can be found to this day within legal courts and everyday practices of judgment, defining these locations as willfully unknowing and hostile to complex accounts of harm. Bringing together feminist, literary, and legal frameworks, Leigh Gilmore provides provocative readings of what happens when women's testimony is discredited. She demonstrates how testimony crosses jurisdictions, publics, and the unsteady line between truth and fiction in search of justice.