To access the full-text, click on the book title. Please make sure you're logged into the Wilkes Portal before accessing our eBook content.
Literature Review and Synthesis
by
This innovative text helps nursing students and working nurses to master the essential skill of synthesizing diverse forms of literature to inform research, practice, and policy in Nursing and the Health Science disciplines. Focusing on the significance of synthesis as a critical component of the literature review process, this book walks readers through each step of completing an exemplary literature review and synthesis. The text provides detailed guidance to each of the rigorous steps needed to design, execute, and synthesize the results of a literature review. This book focuses on the literature review process intended to inform research, quality improvement efforts, clinical practice, and healthcare policy decisions, with discussion of how literature reviews and syntheses inform public conversation. Designed to simplify a complex topic, the text is also a platform for discussing the rapidly expanding need for rigorous literature review approaches across diverse settings and professional groups. Concise formatting, objectives, step-by-step instructions, publication example, activities, and key summaries, further contribute to helping novice and more experienced learners to assess and synthesize existing research to ensure a firm foundation for creating unique and meaningful PhD dissertations, DNP projects, and other scholarly work conducted by nurses and other healthcare professionals. Key Features: Provides a step-by-step guide to completing different types of literature reviews and syntheses, illuminated by examples from the literature Formatted concisely and consistently for ease of use Includes objectives, activities, key summaries, and references to simplify learning Focuses on synthesis of literature regarding research, quality improvement, clinical activities, health policy, and public media in separate chapters Addresses data synthesis for quantitative, qualitative, and other literature review types
Nutrition and Diagnosis-Related Care, Ninth Edition
by
For over 35 years, Nutrition & Diagnosis-Related Care has been an authoritative go-to resource for students, interns, and practitioners. Written by well-known author and registered dietitian nutritionist, Sylvia Escott-Stump, MA, RDN, FAND, and reviewed by practicing and academic experts, this best-selling book provides condition-specific, evidence-based medical nutrition therapy information for nutrition throughout the life cycle, as well as more than 250 diseases and disorders divided into 16 sections. Each section provides an overview followed by essential evidence-based information on nutrition management of the featured conditions. Nutrition therapy and practical guidance for each disease or condition is presented in a unique style that follows the Nutrition Care Process and makes guidance easy to access and implement. Mini case studies throughout demonstrate application of the Nutrition Care Process and standardized language in a practical example. Comprehensive appendix material addresses basic nutrition principles, dietary supplements, laboratory data assessment, culturally sensitive and inclusive nutrition care, dietetics practice and quality standards, and much more.
Palliative Care Nursing
by
Palliative Care Nursing: Caring for Suffering Patients continues to explore the concept of suffering as it relates to nursing practice in an updated new edition. This text helps practicing nurses and students define and recognize various aspects of suffering across the lifespan and within various patient populations, while providing guidance in alleviating suffering. In addition, the authors discuss ways nurses that witness suffering can optimize their own coping skills and facilitate personal growth. The Second Edition aligns with the recently updated ELNEC and AACN competencies and features three new chapters discussing advance care planning, palliative care for those with serious illnesses, and strategies for having difficult conversations with patients and families.How do we identify a patient who is suffering? How do we assess whether our patient (and/or their family) is coping with the event? What can we do to alleviate patient suffering? How can we convey the extent of the suffering to the other members of the healthcare team and advocate excellent palliative care for our patients? Palliative Care Nursing: Caring for Suffering Patients, Second Edition answers these questions and more, making it an indispensable resource for nursing students and nurses employed in a variety of health care settings.
The Psychiatric-Mental Health Nurse Practitioner Certification Review Manual
by
This review manual prepares students to successfully pass the ANCC Psychiatric-Mental Health Nurse Practitioner board certification examination. It encompasses all of the essential knowledge required, uses a succinct outline format that highlights critical detail, and systematically follows the test blueprint so that those taking the exam will be optimally prepared. The Psychiatric-Mental Health Nurse Practitioner Certification Review Manual begins with an overview of the certification examination, self-care, and test tips; the role of the psychiatric-mental health nurse practitioner, scope of practice, and regulations; and the theoretical foundations of care. Other topics examined include the neuroanatomy and physiology of mental illness; psychopharmacology; and physical assessment, diagnostic tests, and differential diagnosis. A wide range of psychiatric disorders, as organized in the DSM-5, are also reviewed. Each of the chapters include learning objectives and end-of-chapter review questions. The review manual concludes with a 150-question practice test.KEY FEATURESReflects the latest ANCC test blueprintIncludes test-taking strategies and tips for preparing for the big day; scope of practice; and theoretical foundations of careCovers a wide range of psychiatric disorders, as organized in the DSM-5Includes end-of-chapter review questions and rationales PLUS a valuable 150-question practice test with rationales--more than 400 questions in total
Primary Care Pediatrics for the Nurse Practitioner
by
"Like a Maestro who orchestrates multiple virtuosos to perform an exquisite musical symphony, Dr. Kyle and her editorial team have united a remarkable group of national pediatric clinicians, educators, scientists, advocates and thought leaders to share their expertise in this textbook dedicated for nurse practitioner students...Using a wealth of evidence-based, multifaceted tools to cultivate competence and confidence, this textbook offers a refined approach toward successful certification and professional credentialing in pediatric primary care. [It is] an academic tool to promote excellence among our future pediatric providers who will undoubtedly recall this resource as a foundation in their development." -Anne Derouin, DNP, APRN, CPNP, PMHS, FAANP Professor, Assistant Dean, MSN Program Duke University School of Nursing Durham, NC Distinguished by its reader-friendly, streamlined presentation of essential information, this comprehensive text delivers all of the core content covered in the Pediatric Nurse Practitioner Primary Care curriculum. With a focus on practical application of knowledge and the development of sound diagnostic reasoning, this text emphasizes health supervision and promotion, and disease prevention and management from the standpoint of the nurse practitioner. Information mirrors the Pediatric Nurse Certification Board test blueprint--including an exam chapter map linking content areas to the exam outline--to ensure mastery of all components of evidence-based care. Organized in four units, each chapter within a unit is structured similarly to ease the learning process for the reader. Beginning with a section on the foundations of child health, the content progresses through growth and development during the pediatric lifespan, child health promotion and wellness visits, into the final section on pediatric disease management presented in SOAP format. Current evidence-based guidelines, useful decision-making algorithms, procedures, and resources for families and nurse practitioners are referenced throughout the text. A comprehensive ancillary resource bundle includes an instructor's manual with WHAT-WHY-APPLY case studies, a test bank including certification exam style questions, PowerPoints, and a color image bank, as well as student resources containing an online prescribing guide for the top 10 pediatric disorders, and patient education downloads. Key Features: Designed in user-friendly, accessible style with brief paragraphs and bulleted lists. Chapters include student learning outcomes, an introduction, a CPNP-PC exam content chapter map, Pro Tips and Alerts, and summarizing key points. Provides distinct sections on health promotion/prevention and disease diagnosis/management. Presents separate coverage of acute and chronic disorders and their necessary referrals. Offers user-friendly algorithms for differential diagnosis. Contains resource links to Bright Futures and Mass General Pediatric symptom checklists, CDC immunization schedules, and other tools. Ancillary resource bundle includes an instructor's manual, test bank, PowerPoints, image bank, online prescribing guide, and patient education downloads.
Transcultural Caring Dynamics in Nursing and Health Care
by
How do you perceive your cultural identity? All of us are shaped by the cultures we interact with and the cultural backgrounds and ethnicities that are part of our heritage. Take a dynamic approach to the study of culture and health care relationships. Dr. Marilyn A. Ray shows us how cultures influence one another through inter-cultural relationships, technology, globalization, and mass communication, and how these influences directly shape our cultural identities in today's world. She integrates theory, practice, and evidence of transcultural caring to show you how to apply transcultural awareness to your clinical decision making. Go beyond common stereotypes using a framework that can positively impact the nurse-patient relationship and the decision-making process. You'll learn how to deliver culturally competent care through the selection and application of transcultural assessment, planning and negotiation tools for interventions.