To access the full-text, click on the book title. Please make sure you're logged into the Wilkes Portal before accessing our eBook content.
Fast Facts: CAR T-Cell Therapy in Diffuse Large B-Cell Lymphoma by
Diffuse large B-cell lymphoma (DLBCL) is the most common form of high-grade non-Hodgkin lymphoma. While treatment with immunochemotherapy has generally shown good outcomes, specific subgroups of patients with high-risk disease have an unfavorable prognosis. Extensive efforts have been made to improve outcomes in these patients. As such, CD19-targeted chimeric antigen receptor (CAR) T-cell therapy has become the new standard of care for patients with relapsed or refractory DLBCL after at least two prior lines of therapy. It is an exciting new therapeutic intervention that is integral to the concept of personalized medicine. Table of Contents: * DLBCL: an overview * CAR T cells * CAR T-cell products * Delivering CAR T-cell therapy and managing patient expectations * CAR T-cell therapy-related toxicities
Critical Care Nursing in Resource Limited Environments by
All hospitals have critically ill patients, and their management depends upon the resources available. In many low income countries, critically ill patients may be admitted to a critical care unit; however, many are nursed on wards due to a lack of critical care beds or simply die before they reach the hospital. This book provides guidance on the unique situations for nurses working in these challenging environments, while considering ethical decision-making, providing appropriate services, and the types of patients admitted. Topics covered include: working in a resource limited environment; cultural awareness and international agendas; provision and access to healthcare services; ethical considerations in the context of resource limited environments; best practice and knowledge regarding rehabilitation, pain management, managing a major incident; relevant research concerning resource limited environments. Critical Care Nursing in Resource Limited Environmentsprepares readers to consider how best to utilise their skills and deliver safe patient care within a resource limited context. Each easy-to-read chapter provides core knowledge and relevant research, as well as useful ideas and solutions, with further reading sections to signpost readers to key international resources. This text provides practical ideas for nurses working in critical care and defence nursing, and acute areas in resource limited environments. It can also be used to support educational courses and pre-deployment training for nurses hoping to work in Global Health. mited environments; best practice and knowledge regarding rehabilitation, pain management, managing a major incident; relevant research concerning resource limited environments. Critical Care Nursing in Resource Limited Environmentsprepares readers to consider how best to utilise their skills and deliver safe patient care within a resource limited context. Each easy-to-read chapter provides core knowledge and relevant research, as well as useful ideas and solutions, with further reading sections to signpost readers to key international resources. This text provides practical ideas for nurses working in critical care and defence nursing, and acute areas in resource limited environments. It can also be used to support educational courses and pre-deployment training for nurses hoping to work in Global Health. ;lt;/P>
Fast Facts: Type 1 Diabetes in Adults by
'Fast Facts: Type 1 Diabetes in Adults' provides a practical overview of this chronic autoimmune condition. Written by and for health professionals working in primary care, this colourful and accessible handbook highlights important practice points that cover: * the identification and management of adults with type 1 diabetes * the prevention and treatment of complications * advances in technology and future treatments An indispensable read for anyone wanting to get up to speed with best practice in primary care. Table of Contents: * Overview * Diagnosis * Management * Hypoglycemia * Education * Special circumstances * Complications * Living with the condition * Technology * Future treatments
Fast Facts: Medication Adherence by
Helping your patients to use their medications safely and appropriately is a critical aspect of clinical practice, but it can be challenging. The published literature on the topic of adherence is vast, and constantly growing and evolving. It is not feasible, nor necessarily helpful, to comprehensively summarize all the available evidence. Instead, this book aims to provide all health professionals with a succinct and handy resource on medication adherence. Importantly, the book focuses on practical information that can inform, and be applied in, day-to-day clinical practice. Table of Contents: * Terminology and definitions * Epidemiology * Identifying non-adherence * Interventions to support adherence
Nursing Informatics and the Foundation of Knowledge by
Nursing Informatics and the Foundation of Knowledge, Fifth Edition is a foundational text for teaching nursing students the core concepts of knowledge management while providing an understanding of the technology tools and applications where a certain level of proficiency is required. A practical guide for understanding how to leverage modern technology, the text teaches students how to acquire, process and disseminate knowledge. Grounded in the Foundation of Knowledge Model, the authors leverage this framework throughout as an organizational structure by which to teach and learn nursing informatics. The Fifth Edition gives nurses the tools and knowledge they need to succeed in the information age. Each chapter has been carefully updated to reflect the most current advances in technology, healthcare and reimbursement services. The authors also highlight the timely and impactful contribution of informatics to quality improvement, interprofessional collaboration, and the pandemic response. Finally, a thought-provoking chapter ties all of the elements of informatics together and asks students to consider the future impact of technology on the patient care experience by examining care bots, cyborgs and artificial intelligence.
Fast Facts: Postmenopausal Osteoporosis by
Fractures resulting from osteoporosis are increasingly common in postmenopausal women, resulting in substantial bone-associated morbidities, and increased mortality and healthcare costs. Despite well-established treatment guidelines, there is an urgent need to improve the recognition of women at high risk for fracture and their treatment. 'Fast Facts: Postmenopausal Osteoporosis' provides an overview of current clinical guidelines and addresses the reasons cited for suboptimal fracture prevention. Finally, but importantly, best practice regarding patient support is described. This concise educational resource is ideal for any primary care practitioner involved in the diagnosis and treatment of patients with postmenopausal osteoporosis. Table of Contents: * Age-related changes affecting bone * Epidemiology * Screening and estimating risk * Diagnosis and assessment * Pharmacological management * Non-pharmacological management * Patient support
Fast Facts: Familial Chylomicronemia Syndrome by
Familial chylomicronemia syndrome (FCS) is an ultra-rare genetic disorder characterized by the abnormal build-up of chylomicrons, the largest type of lipoprotein, which transport dietary fat from the gut to the rest of the body. Patients with FCS often experience severe symptoms, the most feared of which is acute, potentially life-threatening, pancreatitis. This resource is intended to raise awareness of FCS among all members of the healthcare team who come into contact with patients with FCS, with the aim of earlier diagnosis and management, thus preventing some of the more devastating physical, neurological and cognitive symptoms of the disorder. Table of Contents: * Terminology, etiology and pathophysiology * Diagnosis * Complications * Management and prevention * Research directions