New eBooks: September 2022

Fast Facts: Non-Small-Cell Lung Cancer by Mary O'Brien; Benjamin Besse; Mark M. Awad Despite an overall decrease in tobacco use, lung cancer (80-85% of which is non-small-cell lung cancer [NSCLC]) is still the leading cause of cancer death in both men and women worldwide. Annual low-dose CT screening of high-risk individuals has the potential to detect early-stage tumors, which can usually be successfully treated with a combination of surgery, radiotherapy and chemotherapy and, in some cases, targeted therapy. However, most patients with NSCLC still present with advanced or metastatic disease. For these patients, initial therapy is guided by the tumor's molecular characteristics and patient's performance status. Targeted therapies have significantly improved clinical outcomes and, for some patients with no targetable genetic alterations, immunotherapy has demonstrated significant overall survival benefit. This insightful guide is designed to bring you up to speed with the latest developments and is important reading for all health professionals and medical trainees working in this fast-moving field. Table of Contents: * Prevention and screening * Diagnosis and staging * Surgery * Radiotherapy * Systemic therapy in non-metastatic NSCLC * Systemic therapy in advanced-stage/metastatic disease without a molecular driver * Personalized treatment in advanced NSCLC * Oligometastatic disease and brain metastases

U.S. cities & communities 2023 by Richard K. Miller & Kelli Washington

Consumer behavior 2023 by Richard K. Miller and Kelli Washington Consumer Behavior 2022 presents dozens of surveys analyzing consumer spendingcharacteristics, behavioral responses, and preferences. Easy-to-read summaries of current research and other information useful for retailers, marketers, advertisers, and business consultants are presented. While there are other publications focusing ongeneral consumer behavioral topics, Consumer Behavior 2022 is the only resource thatintegrates the full spectrum of applied consumer psychology, demographics, and purchasing influences with major consumer surveys. Over 850 embedded website links will direct you to raw data, additional market research, and other resources

Consumer use of the internet & mobile 2023 by Richard K. Miller and Kelli Washington Consumer Use of the Internet & Mobile 2023 serves as both a strategic planning guide for business executives in all sectors, from portals and content developers to marketers and researchers, as well as a comprehensive reference for academic libraries.

Restaurant, food & beverage market research 2023 by Richard K. Miller and Kelli Washington With a thorough and in-depth analysis of the $700 billion restaurant and food service industry, Restaurant, Food & Beverage Market Research 2022 provides consumer spending data, market forecasts, and trends assessments. The trends assessments include discussions of consumer behavioral trends, dining trends, daypart analysis (including snacks and late-night), mealpart analysis, and more. Comprehensive demographic data for all dayparts at full-service and quick-service restaurants, as well as an analysis of restaurant spending in each state and dining statistics for metropolitan areas, are provided.

Sports marketing 2023 by Richard K. Miller and Kelli Washington Sports Marketing 2022 is a comprehensive analysis of spectator sports, sports media, professional sports franchises, and sports marketing. Sports Marketing 2022 provides the most recent statistics and data available on the $400 billion sports marketplace.

Recent Advances in the Science of Cannabis by Robert M. Strongin (Editor); Jiries Meehan-Atrash (Editor); Monica Vialpando (Editor) Recent Advances in the Science of Cannabis describes progress in a variety of significant areas of cannabis science. This unique book covers topics in cultivation and secondary metabolites, aroma and chemotypes, cannabinoid structures, physiology and pharmacology, as well as the development of unique topical products. State-of-the-art analytical methods and instrumentation are covered, including current developments in mass spectrometry and chromatography, as well as microbial testing. Given the popularity of smoking and vaporizing cannabis, the chemistry of vaping cannabinoid and terpene concentrates is also presented, along with emerging regulatory issues.  Key Features: A guide to emerging modern cannabis technology in a dynamic regulatory climate and appealing to both novices and specialists. Building upon pioneering studies of terpene and cannabinoid chemistry, this distinctive volume describes current best practices, technological breakthroughs and historical context. Written by researchers in industry and academia, a greater understanding of the risks of exposure to emissions from vaping or dabbing cannabis concentrates is provided here. A selection of the book content reviewing Thermal Degradation of Cannabinoids and Cannabis Terpenes has been included in "Hot 2021" RSC Advances.

Cannabis Healing by Franjo Grotenhermen Everything you need to know to use cannabinoids safely and effectively for better health and healing of a wide range of conditions * Explains the biochemistry of cannabinoids and shows how they interact with the human body * Offers a complete discussion of safe use, possible side effects, contraindications, and precautions, including during pregnancy and chemotherapy * Explores the use of CBD to treat seizures, anxiety, muscular disorders, and psychotic states and the use of THC to treat schizophrenia, Alzheimer's, ADHD, Tourette's, Parkinson's, depression, COPD, and chronic pain, among many other physical, neurological, and emotional conditions In this authoritative yet practical guide to the healing properties of cannabis and cannabinoids such as THC and CBD, Franjo Grotenhermen, M.D., explores how to use these substances to treat a wide range of physical and emotional conditions. Dr. Grotenhermen first examines the history of marijuana as medicine, including its important role in U.S. medical practice during the 19th century. He explains the biochemistry of cannabinoids and shows how they interact with the human body, including a look at cannabinoid receptors and how cannabinoids occur naturally in the body. The author then draws on his years of experience legally treating patients in Germany as well as numerous research studies and tests to provide an in-depth guide to the many healing applications for cannabis and its derivatives. The therapeutic applications covered include the use of CBD to treat seizures, epilepsy, anxiety, several forms of cancer, muscular disorders, and psychotic states and the use of THC to treat schizophrenia, Alzheimer's, ADHD, Tourette's, Parkinson's, impotence, depression, lupus, COPD, and chronic pain, among many other physical, neurological, and emotional conditions. The author examines the various cannabis-derived medications available, such as Cannabinol, Dronabinol, and Marinol, and the main methods of administering cannabis. He offers a complete discussion of safe use, possible side effects, contraindications, and precautions (including during pregnancy and chemotherapy), alongside research data that confirms cannabis as one of the least toxic substances in existence. Written by a practicing physician, this guide provides everything you need to know to use cannabinoids safely and effectively for health and healing.

The Merck Manual of Diagnosis and Therapy by Merck Editor Back by popular demand: the world's most widely-used medical reference, now in its 20th edition. The Merck Manual of Diagnosis and Therapy has been thoroughly updated and expanded with a larger trim size to include 40% new and revised content, including 36 new chapters with more than 200 tables and 100 figures. Packed with essential information on diagnosing and treating medical disorders, this comprehensive guide was written by a team of renowned medical experts. It is intended for everyday use by healthcare professionals to ensure delivery of the best care to their patients. The new Merck Manual of Diagnosis and Therapy makes it easy to find the right information at the moment it's needed, with the help of section thumb tabs. It is a must-have for medical students, residents, practicing physicians, nurses, and allied health professionals. New larger trim 7 3/4 x 9 1/4 to accommodate 40% new content 36 completely new chapters Revised and expanded chapters in Cardiovascular, Genitourinary, Gynecologic, Neurologic, Pregnancy, and Infants and Children Pediatrics and trauma section significantly revised and expanded Key Points summarize the facts at-a-glance New Pearls & Pitfalls highlight noteworthy medical info and areas of caution 16-page full-color insert aids visual recognition of skin, eye, and oral disorders

Business-to-business marketing 2023 by Richard K. Miller & Kelli Washington Business-to-Business Marketing 2023 presents statistics on B2B spending,comparisons of the effectiveness of marketing tactics, surveys of marketers and end-users, and analyses of trends in the B2B marketplace. Topics include analytics,B2B media advertising, B2B e-commerce, behavioral marketing, business directories and databases, content marketing, creating customer awareness, customer relationship management, direct marketing, distribution channels, email marketing, engagement, event marketing, integrated marketing communications, lead generation, lead management, lead nurturing, marketing automation, mobile marketing, networking, online video, organic and paid search, sales staff, social media marketing, sponsorships, sports marketing, software tools, trade show marketing, website traffic, and more.

Consumer marketing & advertising 2023 by Richard K. Miller and Kelli Washington Consumer Marketing & Advertising 2023 assesses leading approaches for marketing to consumers - from media advertising to social media marketing, from direct mail to email, and from customer service to experiential marketing. Consumer marketing tactics arecategorized into 60 topics, each presented in a separate chapter. Current market research and statistics, an analysis of effectiveness, surveys of marketers and consumers, and discussions of trends are presented for each. The handbook also examines overall marketing strategies including analytics for ROI, budget distribution, and prioritization. Over 1,200 embedded website links will direct you to raw data, additional market research, and other resources.

Entertainment & leisure market research 2023 by Richard K. Miller and Kelli Washington Entertainment & Leisure Market Research 2023 presents an in-depth assessment of leisure, examining the market within the scope of such topics as cultural & creative activities, gambling & wagering, gardening, genealogy, hiking & camping, hobbies, holiday festivities, hunting & fishing, lifestyle activities, nightlife, sports & recreation, theme parks, and yoga. In all, 44 unique segments of leisure are assessed, covering virtually every major activity where consumers spend their non-working time and discretionary income. Most chapters provide statistics on participation and expenditures, market characteristics and trends, demographics, and a list of resources for further research. Entertainment & Leisure Market Research 2023 also provides comprehensive data on consumer use of media. Segments covered include filmed entertainment, home entertainment, live performances, radio, recorded music, television, video games, and more.Over 700 embedded website links will direct you to raw data, additional market research, and other resources.

Retail & e-commerce market research 2023 by Richard K. Miller and Kelli Washington Retail & E-Commerce Market Research 2023 provides the most comprehensive retailmarket data and analyses available in any reference. In its 21st edition, Retail & E-Commerce Market Research 2023 presents the following: * Year-end and historical market data by sector * Trends and current business activities * Comprehensive data on e-commerce spending and trends * Review of the financial performance of market leaders * Assessment of retail shopper satisfaction * Profile of malls and shopping centers * Assessment of consumer packaged goods, health/beauty/cosmetics, home furnishings, licensed merchandise, and luxury brands * Holiday, back-to-school, and back-to-college spending data. Over 850 embedded website links will direct you to raw data, additional market research, and other resources.

Travel & tourism market research 2023 by Richard K. Miller and Kelli Washington Travel & Tourism Market Research 2022 provides the most comprehensive compilation of traveler spending and tourist visitor statistics available in any published reference. It is designed to be a strategic business planning resource for executives in all travel and tourism organizations. The handbook is used as a reference by most colleges and universities with a hospitality, hotel management, or tourism curriculum. Previous editions were purchased by virtually all state travel offices, most convention and visitor bureaus, and dozens of corporations in all sectors of the travel and tourism business. Visitor and expenditure statistics for major cities and tourist destinations are provided based on RKMA survey data.

Cannabis Laboratory Design Fundamentals by Shaun R. Opie (Editor) The legislative requirement for cannabis to undergo laboratory testing has followed legalization of medical and recreational use in every U.S. state to date.  Cannabis safety testing is a new investment opportunity within the emerging cannabis market that is separate from cultivation, processing, and distribution, allowing individuals and organizations who may have been reluctant to enter previously a new entry route to the cannabis space. However, many of the costs, timelines, operational requirements, and compliance issues are overlooked by people who have not been exposed to regulated laboratory testing. Cannabis Laboratory Fundamentals provides an in-depth review of the key issues that impact cannabis testing laboratories and provides recommendations and solutions to avoid common - but expensive - mistakes. The text goes beyond methodology to include sections on economics, regulation, and operational challenges, making it useful for both new and experienced cannabis laboratory operators, as well as all those who want to understand the opportunities and risks of this industry.