To access the full-text, click on the book title. Please make sure you're logged into the Wilkes Portal before accessing our eBook content.
Taber's Cyclopedic Medical Dictionary
by
Taber's brings meanings to life. In hand, online or mobile...the all-in-one, go-to source for classroom, clinic, and beyond. Put the language of nursing, medicine, and the healthcare professions at your fingertips. In hand, online, or on your mobile device--anywhere and everywhere, Taber's 24 is the all-in-one, go-to source in the classroom, clinical, and beyond. Under the editorial direction of Donald Venes, MD, MSJ, a team of expert consulting editors and consultants representing nearly every health care profession ensures that the content reflects today's most current and relevant information. An access code inside new, print texts unlocks a FREE, 1-year subscription to Taber's Online, powered by Unbound Medicine, the complete Taber's database for quick reference when and where you need it. See what students and practitioners are saying about the previous edition... Five Stars "What every medical student, student nurse, paramedic student, and medical professional should have."--Kelly, Online Reviewer EVERYTHING A NURSING STUDENT NEEDS. "My school did not recommend this book, but I remembered this book from LPN school and how much it helped with care planning. It's much easier to carry than all the textbooks to clinicals too! LOVE this newest version too!!"--Melissa A. B., Online Reviewer Nursing school life saver. "This book has been a great for my clinical experience databases. I love how it's broken into sections for easy access and understanding. My school offers an electronic edition for free to us, but I like hard copy books."--P.M., Online Reviewer Gotta Have It! "I have thoroughly used this dictionary already in my schooling! I am sure it will help me in many days to come."--Christina M., Online Reviewer Very Informative! "Love that I have access to the online version that makes it quicker to find terms needed for class."--Kelly V., Online Reviewer Great book. "I use it for nursing school during my clinicals and it is perfect."--Online Reviewer
Cannabis in Medicine
by
Legalization of marijuana is becoming increasingly prominent in the United States and around the world. While there is some discussion of the relationship between marijuana and overall health, a comprehensive resource that outlines the medical literature for several organ systems, as well as non-medical societal effects, has yet to be seen. While all physicians strive to practice evidence-based medicine, many clinicians aren't aware of the facts surrounding cannabis and are guided by public opinion. This first of its kind book is a comprehensive compilation of multiple facets of cannabis recommendation, use and effects from a variety of different perspectives. Comprised of chapters dedicated to separate fields of medicine, this evidence-based guide outlines the current data, or lack thereof, as well as the need for further study. The book begins with a general overview of the neurobiology and pharmacology of THC and hemp. It then delves into various medical concerns that plague specific disciplines of medicine such as psychiatry, cardiology, gastrointestinal and neurology, among others. The end of the book focuses on non-medical concerns such as public health and safety, driving impairment and legal implications. Comprised of case studies and meta-analyses, Cannabis in Medicine: An Evidence-Based Approach provides clinicians with with a concise, evidence-based guide to various health concerns related to the use of marijuana. By addressing non-medical concerns, this book is also a useful resource for professionals working in the public health and legal fields.
Vaccines, Medicines and COVID-19
by
This open access book is a collection of research papers on COVID-19 by Germán Velásquez from 2020 and early 2021 that help to answer the question: How can an agency like the World Health Organization (WHO) be given a stronger voice to exercise authority and leadership? The considerable health, economic and social challenges that the world faced at the beginning of 2020 with COVID-19 continued and worsened in many parts of the world in the second-half of 2020 and into 2021. Many of these countries and nations wanted to explore COVID-19 on their own, sometimes without listening to the main international health bodies such as WHO, an agency of the United Nations system with long-standing experience and vast knowledge at the global level and of which all countries in the world are members. In this single volume, the chapters present the progress of thinking and debate -- particularly in relation to drugs and vaccines -- that would enable a response to the COVID-19 pandemic or to subsequent crises that may arise. Among the topics covered: COVID-19 Vaccines: Between Ethics, Health and Economics Medicines and Intellectual Property: 10 Years of the WHO Global Strategy Re-thinking Global and Local Manufacturing of Medical Products After COVID-19 Rethinking R&D for Pharmaceutical Products After the Novel Coronavirus COVID-19 Shock Intellectual Property and Access to Medicines and Vaccines The World Health Organization Reforms in the Time of COVID-19 Vaccines, Medicines and COVID-19: How Can WHO Be Given a Stronger Voice? is essential reading for negotiators from the 194 member countries of the World Health Organization (WHO); World Trade Organization (WTO) and World Intellectual Property Organization (WIPO) staff participating in these negotiations; academics and students of public health, medicine, health sciences, law, sociology and political science; and intergovernmental organizations and non-governmental organizations that follow the issue of access to treatments and vaccines for COVID-19.
C Programming
by
The C programming language is a popular language in industries as well as academics. Since its invention and standardized as ANSI C, several other standards known as C99, C11, and C17 were published with new features in subsequent years. This book covers all the traits of ANSI C and includes new features present in other standards. The content of this book helps a beginner to learn the fundamental concept of the C language. The book contains a step-by-step explanation of every program that allows a learner to understand the syntax and builds a foundation to write similar programs. The explanation clarity, exercises, and illustrations present in this book make it a complete textbook in all aspects. Features: Other than ANSI C, the book explains the new C standards like C99, C11, and C17. Most basic and easy-to-follow programs are chosen to explain the concepts and their syntax. More emphasis is given to the topics like Functions, Pointers, and Structures. Recursion is emphasized with numerous programming examples and diagrams. A separate chapter on the command-line argument and preprocessors is included that concisely explains their usage. Several real-life figures are taken to explain the concepts of dynamic memory allocation, file handling, and the difference between structure and union. The book contains more than 260 illustrations, more than 200 programs, and exercises at the end of each chapter. This book serves as a textbook for UG/PG courses in science and engineering. The researcher, postgraduate engineers, and embedded software developers can also keep this book as reference material for their fundamental learning.
Global Climate Change and Human Health
by
Learn more about the impact of global warming and climate change on human health and disease The Second Edition of Global Climate Change and Human Health delivers an accessible and comprehensive exploration of the rapidly accelerating and increasingly ubiquitous effects of climate change and global warming on human health and disease. The distinguished and accomplished authors discuss the health impacts of the economic, climatological, and geopolitical effects of global warming. You'll learn about: The effect of extreme weather events on public health and the effects of changing meteorological conditions on human health How changes in hydrology impact the spread of waterborne disease and noninfectious waterborne threats Adaptation to, and the mitigation and governance of, climate change, including international perspectives on climate change adaptation Perfect for students of public health, medicine, nursing, and pharmacy, Global Climate Change and Human Health, Second Edition is an invaluable resource for anyone with an interest in the intersection of climate and human health and disease.