The Advocate Educator's Handbook by
A critical guide on creating inclusive classrooms for transgender students Including a foreword from Dr. Peggy Brookins, President of the National Board for Professional Teaching Standards, The Advocate Educator's Handbook offers a tested framework for educators to use in their journeys to create inclusive classrooms for transgender and non-binary students. Centered on a framework of four principles - educate, affirm, include, and disrupt - this book provides a new way of thinking about inclusivity in the classroom, as well as practical ways to foster students' sense of belonging. The authors bring rich understanding to the topic - Kling as a transgender educator & advocate, Ford as a teacher & parent of a transgender child, and both authors being educators themselves. You'll also read stories from transgender and non-binary students, teachers, researchers, parents, and more, providing unique and important perspectives. Inside the book, you'll find tools that you can start using on day one of being in the classroom. You'll also find model policies for teachers, schools administrators, and public policymakers, so you can begin the important work of advocating for and with trans and non-binary students. By engaging with trans youth and allies, we can build inclusivity in and beyond the classroom. Understand what it means to be transgender or non-binary and learn about the experiences of trans youth Learn how to support trans and non-binary students with dozens of firsthand accounts from experts serving the communities Find resources you can use as an educator in your journey toward inclusivity in education Recognize and respond to anti-trans policies and laws targeting trans students Identify important actions unique to your situation with personal reflection questions and scenarios This book was created especially for K-12 educators, administrators, and others looking to enact change and create safe spaces for transgender and non-binary youth. From daily life in the classroom to policy at the highest levels, The Advocate Educator's Handbook will help educators & their community work toward meaningful change.
Health for Everyone by
A guide to progressive healthcare packed full of actionable recommendations and a road map to a more inclusive and equitable future. Health for Everyone: A Guide to Politically and Socially Progressive Healthcare brings together experts across a range of healthcare and related disciplines to explore how we can make our healthcare system more progressive for groups that have been overlooked for too long. Rather than a health policy manual adopting a 30,000-foot view, this is a practical guide to start making healthcare more responsive, more patient-centered, and more community-led--right now, starting from present realities. Zackary Berger, a well-known primary care physician, activist, and bioethicist, has brought together teachers, clinicians, advocates, and researchers, to map the steps we need to take to provide better care to African American, Latinx, chronically ill, and disabled patients while improving the system overall for everyone Health for Everyone answers questions such as how do you provide the same care to every individual, when individuals are different? How do you get ideal care when you are a member of a disadvantaged group? What if you have a chronic condition that tends to get the short end of the stick, for which treatment might not be available, or be stigmatized? Focusing on a practical, yet ethical and philosophical case for progressive health care, this book focuses on what matters most to patients and on the steps we need to take to insure better health for everyone.
Mosby's 2024 Nursing Drug Reference by
**Selected for Doody's Core Titles® 2024 with "Essential Purchase" designation in Pharmacology** Choose the drug handbook trusted by nurses for over 35 years! Mosby's 2024 Nursing Drug Reference makes it easy to find the most vital information on the drugs you administer most frequently. More than 5,000 drugs are profiled - including more than 25 new entries for drugs recently approved by the FDA. And no other drug guide places a higher emphasis on patient safety, with Black Box Warnings for dangerous adverse reactions, High Alerts for drugs with the greatest risk, and a focus on both common and life-threatening side effects. From nursing pharmacology expert Linda Skidmore-Roth, this perennial bestseller proves there is a difference in drug guides. More than 5,000 generic and trade-name drugs are profiled, covering almost every drug you will administer in practice or in clinicals. Alphabetical organization by generic name provides quick and easy access to specific drugs, with both trade and generic names listed in the index. Bolded coverage of IV drug administration highlights dosage and IV administration instructions, including safety considerations and Y-site, syringe, and additive compatibilities. Nursing Process steps are used as the framework for organizing all nursing care information. Complete pharmacokinetic information is summarized in a table and includes the mechanism and absorption of the drug as well as its action, duration, and excretion. Side effects information is organized by body system and identified as common or life threatening, showing signs to watch for during assessments. High Alert headers highlight drugs that pose the greatest risk if administered improperly. Black Box Warnings provide alerts to FDA warnings of dangerous or life-threatening drug reactions. Overview of drug categories explains the safe administration of common classes of drugs, as well as their common side effects and interactions. Flexible, water-resistant cover provides durability in the clinical setting. NEW! Drug monographs for more than 25 newly released, FDA-approved medications equip you with the latest drug information including generic names, trade names, pronunciations, do-not-confuse drugs, action, uses, contraindications, precautions, dosages and routes, side effects, pharmacokinetics, interactions (including drug/herb, drug/food and drug/lab test), nursing considerations, treatment of overdose, patient/family teaching, and more. NEW! Several online-only drug monographs are added to the Evolve website, creating an overall total of more than 100 Evolve-only drug monographs for lesser-used medications.
Saunders Comprehensive Review for the NCLEX-RN® Examination by
Prepare for success on the NCLEX-RN® exam with this complete review! Often called the best NCLEX® exam review book ever, Saunders Comprehensive Review for the NCLEX-RN® Examination reviews all nursing content areas related to the current test plan. This new edition includes 5,700 NCLEX exam-style questions in the book and online, including alternate items formats and Next Generation NCLEX questions. Don''t make the mistake of assuming the quality of the questions is the same in all NCLEX exam review books, because only this book includes the kinds of questions that consistently test the clinical judgment skills necessary to pass today''s NCLEX exam. Even better, all answers include detailed rationales to help you learn from your answer choices as well as test-taking strategies with tips on how to best approach each question. Written by the most trusted names in NCLEX review, Linda Anne Silvestri and Angela Elizabeth Silvestri, this is THE book of choice for NCLEX preparation. But don''t just take our word for it - read any customer review or ask your classmates to see why there''s nothing else like it! More than 5,700 practice questions in the text and on the Evolve website offer ample testing practice. UNIQUE! Detailed test-taking strategy is included for each question, offering clues for analyzing and uncovering the correct answer option, with rationales provided for both correct and incorrect answers. UNIQUE! Pyramid Points icons indicate important information, identifying content that is likely to appear on the NCLEX-RN® examination. UNIQUE! Pyramid Alerts appear in red text and highlight important nursing concepts, and identify content that typically appears on the NCLEX-RN examination. UNIQUE! Priority Concepts - two in each chapter - discuss important content and nursing interventions, and reflect the latest edition of Giddens'' Concepts for Nursing Practice text. UNIQUE! Priority Nursing Action boxes provide information about the steps you will take in clinical situations requiring clinical judgment and prioritization. UNIQUE! Audio review summaries on Evolve cover pharmacology, acid-base balance, and fluids and electrolytes. New graduate''s perspective is offered on how to prepare for the NCLEX-RN, in addition to nonacademic preparation, the CAT format, and test-taking strategies. Mnemonics are included to help you remember important information. Alternate item format questions cover multiple response, prioritizing [ordered response], fill-in-the-blank, figure/illustration [hot spot], chart/exhibit, video, and audio questions. 75-question comprehensive exam in the book covers all content areas in the book in the same percentages that they are covered on the actual NCLEX-RN test plan. Practice questions on Evolve are organized by content area, cognitive level, client needs area, integrated process, health problem, clinical judgment, and priority concepts, allowing completely customizable exams or study sessions. NEW! Next Generation NCLEX® (NGN) examination-style questions prepare you for the biggest change to the NCLEX-RN® test plan to date. NEW! Thoroughly updated content incorporates clinical updates and reflects the latest NCLEX-RN test plan. NEW! Clinical Judgment boxes identify clinical judgment situations, each addressing one of the six cognitive skills of the NCSBN Clinical Judgment Measurement Model. NEW! Additional questions cover health problem areas and complex care. NEW! Urinary and Bowel Elimination and Hygiene, Mobility, and Skin Integrity chapters are added to this edition.
Educational Management and Special Educational Needs by
This book systematizes the latest findings on the clinical, psychological, and pedagogical features of today's children with special educational needs (SEN) and expands the scientific understanding that characterizes such children. The book develops a system of education and assistance for children with SEN, including children with locomotor disabilities, intellectual disabilities, autism spectrum disorders, and hearing and visual impairments. The book is intended for heads of educational authorities, parents, specialists working with children with special educational needs, psychologists, teachers, methodologists, specialists in the field of inclusive education, and students and teachers in special education of pedagogical and psychological departments of higher education institutions.
A Kaleidoscope of Identities by
Contemporary theoretical tools in the social sciences and humanities hinder an understanding of the dynamic interplay between reflexivity and routine in the formation of sex, gender, and sexual identities. In A Kaleidoscope of Identities, James W. Messerschmidt and Tristan Bridges build on the work of feminist sociologists in examining the relationship among situational interaction, accountability, and relational and discursive social structures to uniquely conceptualize sex, gender, and sexual practice as both reflexive and routine. Drawing on nuanced and powerful life-history interviews, Messerschmidt and Bridges present a new theoretical framework situating reflexivity and routine in a much more symbiotic relationship than has been previously acknowledged. Without privileging either, Messerschmidt and Bridges explore this relationship through a novel analysis of the ways reflexivity and routine collaboratively shape sex, gender, and sexual identities over time and across space. A Kaleidoscope of Identities provides a fresh, accessible, and provocative argument advancing our knowledge on the changing nature of sex, gender, and sexual identity formations alongside transforming systems of power and inequality.
Public Health 101 by
From clean drinking water, to seat belts, to immunizations, the impact of public health on every individual is undeniable. For undergraduates, an understanding of the foundations of public health is an essential step toward becoming an educated citizen. Public Health 101: Improving Community Health, Fourth Edition by Riegelman and Kirkwood provides a big-picture, population perspective on the determinants of health and disease and the tools available to protect and promote health. Now with a greater emphasis on community involvement and providing community based-services, the fourth edition examines the full range of options for intervention including use of the healthcare system, the public health system, and society-wide systems such as laws and taxation.Through a unique set of case studies, vignettes, and extensive examples, readers will come away with a clear understanding of how public health affects their everyday lives. They will learn and apply frameworks for thinking about public health issues and gain a deeper understanding about the health news they are exposed to each day.Updated throughout, Public Health 101, Fourth Edition offers:* New case studies on folic acid and spina bifida, the opioid epidemic, athletic health injuries, mPox, and the patient safety movement.* Interactive COVID-19 case studies revised and consolidated to take an historical perspective on the COVID-19 pandemic.* Updated materials for each chapter including Healthy People 2030, pandemic prevention, new vaccines, environmental justice and climate change, and academic health departments.* New Boxes in each chapter including misinformation/disinformation, suicide, health advocacy, national dietary guidelines, and open notes.* Improving Population Health interactive exercises retained from 3rd edition* Updated faculty resources, including Instructor's Manual with sample answers to most case studies, test bank, sample examinations, sample syllabus, PowerPoint slides, and videos with annotations for each chapter.* Navigate Advantage Access that unlocks a comprehensive and interactive eBook, student practice activities and assessments, a full suite of instructor resources, and learning analytics reporting tools.
Simplifying Statistics for Graduate Students by
One of the greatest barriers to completing a graduate thesis or a doctoral dissertation is statistics. Oftentimes, the journey through graduate school is gratifying when the content courses in the chosen field of study are undertaken. Conversely, the statistics courses are met with trepidation. Many graduate students feel lost when it comes to dealing with data. Simplifying Statistics for Grad Students:Making the Use of Data Simple and User-Friendly is intended to help graduate students move through the barriers that seem formidable but are not. While this book is not a statistics text and does not purport to be such, it introduces graduate students to basic statistical concepts in an easy-to-comprehend manner. It is also a handbook that they can refer back to time and time again. Expertise with data is expected of graduate students. Simplifying Statistics for Grad Students is an antidote for the research and statistics blues.
